Zach King: The Magical Mix-Up (Zach King #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
601 0
Zach King: The Magical Mix-Up (Zach King #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-0062677211
Buy This Book
      
Zach’s back for another adventure at Horace Greely Middle School. Long homeschooled, Zach’s finally comfortable at public school. Even though he’s missing his magical powers, he’s got a best friend, a super-popular YouTube channel, and a crush on Rachel, the prettiest girl in school.
Zach is confident enough to muster up the courage to ask Rachel to the big school dance. Just as he’s just about to do it, Hogan, the new kid from Australia, shows up and steals his thunder. But when Zach learns that Hogan is just using the dance as a way to embarrass Rachel and ruin her chances of becoming class president, Zach knows he has to stop him somehow.
Now Zach’s on a mission to recover his magical powers in order to stop Hogan before he can sabotage Rachel’s chances. For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Timmy Failure, and DanTDM: Trayaurus and the Enchanted Crystal and anyone who’s ever wondered where they belong, this is the perfect book for you.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Rewind a Middle School Dance!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Now that Zach has lost his magical powers (he could travel from place to place through magical ball caps), he is trying to figure out how to proceed through life in middle school. He has a big crush on Rachel, and wants to take her to the school dance, but he is beat to the punch by exotic exchange student Hogan, who does at least share some of Rachel's sports interests. When Zach tries to make his move at the dance to improve his position, things go badly wrong and he and friend Aaron get kicked out. Realizing that he has the residual power to use the magical objects of other members in his family, he borrows a device to copy his father's watch, which turns back time, and returns to the dance multiple times to try to reverse the damage. Instead, he makes things worse. Can he mange to correct his path before the watch disappears? And is the fact that he still has some magic a hopeful sign?
Good Points
While this is not technically a notebook novel, it does have the very heavy, glossy paper of a graphic novel, and has pages interspersed throughout with full color illustrations and the occasional comic strip sequence. The text is a good size, and the pages have a lot of white space. This might be why my reluctant readers were so keen for me to get the next book in the series!

I appreciated that the story did have a brief plot, and was solidly middle grade. There are not enough funny books for middle school age boys that also have a light, age appropriate romance. I love that Rachel is interested in all manner of sports and is a very adventurous character, and Zach's attempts at impressing her are definitely true to life. Hogan is not a very nice character, and has some evil plans up his sleeve, but he's not irredeemable. I would love to see Aaron more fully fleshed out as a sidekick, but he serves his purpose well, along with his media loving cat. Zach's family, although they don't appear often, are delightful as well.

I've never head of Mr. King and his YouTube videos, but apparently the target demographic has. Zach doesn't do a lot of magic in this book, aside from turning back time, but I imagine he will get his powers back in subsequent volumes, which will be fun to read!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."