The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)

Hot
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
10249 1
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 26, 2018
ISBN
978-1338214437
Buy This Book
      
For centuries there have been rumors of another continent on the dragons' planet -- another land far across the ocean, populated by tribes of dragons very different from those we know. But there's never been any evidence, and most dragons dismissed the rumors as fairy tales.

Until now.

Because it turns out the stories are true.

And the other tribes are coming.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Beware the Metamorphosis
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Blue and his sister Luna are very close to going through metamorphosis, after which they will be given jobs and have a very different life. Blue is a rule follower and thinks that his life in Pantala is pretty good. Sure, it would be nice if the HiveWings were nicer and the SilkWings had more freedom, and if his father hadn't disappeared right after his birth, but those are minor issues compared to safety and order. When Luna starts to feel poorly while undergoing metamorphosis, the siblings realize it is because she is a very rare FlameSilk, which the HiveWings consider a dangerous threat and turn over to Queen Wasp. Blue, while he wants to do what he is told, thinks this is a bad plan, and tries to rescue his sister. Luckily, he runs into Cricket, a HiveWing who does not get sucked into the HiveWing mind when they are all told to capture Blue. Cricket is a quirky, talkative creature, and so interested in Blue that she's glad to help him out. Along with Swordtail, who loves Luna and whom the two rescue from the suspended animation he is held in as punishment, they head toward the home of the Queen Wasp to rescue Luna. They also run into a family of LeafWings, who are supposedly extinct, and they threaten to kill the dragonets unless they bring the Book of Clearsight back with them. With the help of their daughter, Sundew, Blue and Cricket venture deep into the lair of the HiveWings and their queen, find the librarian, who is in thrall to the wicked queen, manage to get the book, and find other secrets as well. Clearly, things won't be able to stay as they are, and as Blue approaches his metamorphosis, he knows that when he awakens, he will have a lot of work to do, work that might point him in the direction of the Lost Continent and other secrets that have been long suppressed in his society.
Good Points
While I am not a fan of long series involving different factions of dragons who all must fight the good fight, I can see the appeal of these books. My students are tremendously addicted to the Wings of Fire Series as well as the other series Sutherland helps to write, the Warrior Cats books. The arrival of the newest book is always a celebration.

The characters are fun and spunky, and have delightful quirks that help readers root for them even when they are a little misguided. Blue's optimism in the face of completely unpleasant living conditions is rather charming, as is his constant battle with following rules when that means dragons he love might not be saved. Cricket, as an "evil" HiveWing shatters Blue's perceptions and endears herself to him by wanting to help him, asking relentless questions, and having secrets her own people don't understand, like growing an extinct tree in her class terrarium project! Swordtail's devotion is touching, and Luna's confusion and fear at undergoing a major change under less than optimal conditions is something which young readers will understand.

The world building is also solid. My best friend in middle school was a huge fan of McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern, and was constantly going on and on about different facets of their world. The Lost Continent describes and defines and unique and well constructed dragon world, starting with a map of regions at the beginning, along with the back history of Clearsight and descriptions of the different kinds of dragons. These are the details that readers who want to submerge themselves in imaginary worlds crave, memorize, and endlessly repeat in conversations with other fans.

There's plenty of adventure, traveling across the dragon world, danger, and occasional breaks for honey drops and other delicacies. This series is easier for me to follow than the Warriors, since there is generally a more defined quest centered on a main character with fewer supporting ones. Fans of Park's Wing and Claw series, Rocha's Secrets of Bearhaven and Kathryn Lasky's series like The Guardians of Ga'Hoole or Bears of the Ice will find this newest volume in the Wings of Fire series a worthy follow up to previous volumes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Good way to start off the 3rd arc
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I thought blue was over all a interesting protagonist. He was funny and I liked how he tried to understand everyone he met, and i like how he always tried to follow the rules.
Good Points
* Characters
* The idea of it
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."