Louise Loves Bake Sales

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
579 0
Louise Loves Bake Sales
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
January 02, 2018
ISBN
978-0062363657
Buy This Book
      
This charming I Can Read story also introduces the concept of how mixing primary colors makes new ones, and that creativity comes in all different forms.

Louise Loves Bake Sales is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. This is the first Level One I Can Read starring Louise, from the acclaimed picture book Louise Loves Art.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Colors and Baking
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
In this Level 1 "I Can Read" book, Louise and her brother Art decide to make and decorate cupcakes for the first grade bake sale. Since they both love to paint, they decide that the frosting should be a rainbow of colors. They add red and yellow to make orange, and red and blue to make purple. They keep going and going until their frosting is an unappetizing shade of gray. But, why not make their art look like Art? Using their ingenuity (as well as some marshmallows and gumdrops), Louise manages to save the day... and the cupcakes.
Good Points
I Can Read books have a great ratio of words to pages, so that young children are able to quickly turn pages and have a feeling of accomplishment. Each brightly colored, happy illustration is accompanied by no more than one sentence, and the words are in large font and are easy to pronounce and read. The story moves along quickly, and Louise and Art have a good attitude about their set back.

Young readers who have enjoyed Light's picture books (Louise Loves Art, Louise and the Art of Friendship) will be glad to read about this character on their own, and anyone who loves mixing paint or is a fan of Margaret Wise Brown's The Color Kittens will enjoy this light hearted romp that includes two great ways for kids to make a mess-- baking and painting!

I would have enjoyed this a little more if the children's parents had been pictured in the periphery keeping an eye on kitchen safety, and the cat had not been up near the table, but that's just me!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."