My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
511 0
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
January 02, 2018
ISBN
978-0062367501
Buy This Book
      
Join the gang from Ella Mentry School in this hilarious, hijinks-filled sports story as they show young readers why they attend the weirdest—and most fun!—school around.

With help from Coach Deen, Ryan wants to form a sports team with A.J. and Andrea, but it's for one of the weirdest sports there is: curling! Will the sweepers be able to get the stones to the house, or will trouble among the teammates end in one weird mess?

My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble is a Level Two I Can Read book, geared for kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Early Reader about CURLING
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a football team with Andrea and A.J. They fight a lot, and when Ryan asks them if they want to join a curling team with them, A.J. claims it's not a real sport, but Andrea takes lessons every week. When he finds out that Mo Deen, the coolest coach ever, is in charge of the team, A.J. is interested, but the team is full. To help out his friend, A.J. still comes to watch practice, which puts him in a good position to help out when needed. The coach has promised the team that they can come to a pool part at his mansion if they win, but will they be able to pull it off?
Good Points
The page design of this is quite nice, and very helpful for readers who are working on longer sentences and more words per page. The illustrations are placed mainly at the bottom of the page, so that the text is isolated and easier to process. The background is usually either white or a sky blue, so it's easy to focus on the words.

Paillot's illustrations are clear and bright, and it's easy to tell the characters apart. There are lots of funny touches, such as the team uniform that consists of plaid jackets and bow ties! The large eyes on the characters are very expressive, and the pictures help give clues to the meaning of the text.

Gutman's writing is always goofy and fun, but he tackles a serious issue about getting along with teammates, working towards goals, and doing one's best. Readers who enjoy the Stink Moody beginning readers or love sports of all kind will be very pleased to pick up Teamwork Trouble.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."