Evangeline of the Bayou

Evangeline of the Bayou
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-0062680341
Buy This Book
      
A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

Editor review

1 review
Louisiana Myth
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Evangeline is a haunt huntress in training. She's being taught how to rid the world of spirits, banshees, and pretty much any monster in existence. But when a job takes her and her Gran to New Orleans, they get more than they've bargained for.

In New Orleans, Evangeline meets a reclusive Julian and his mom and dad. His mom is plagued by something that no medical physician can diagnose, so the haunt huntresses are her only hope. Their worst fear appears in the form of a Rougarou, which is a Louisiana legend. When Gran gets hurt, it's up to Evangeline to finish the job and save Julian's mom.

It was exciting waiting for Evangeline's familiar to show up because I was eager to see what form it would take. I also really enjoyed the Cajun things in it that are signature to the south, like jambalaya and the rougarou. Being from Louisiana, it was neat seeing those aspects of the story play a part like it does in my every day life.


Final Verdict: This is perfect for fans of monsters, action, adventure, and myths. It's a Louisiana legend morphed into a story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account