Evangeline of the Bayou

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1074 0
Evangeline of the Bayou
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN
978-0062680341
Buy This Book
      
A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Louisiana Myth
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Evangeline is a haunt huntress in training. She's being taught how to rid the world of spirits, banshees, and pretty much any monster in existence. But when a job takes her and her Gran to New Orleans, they get more than they've bargained for.

In New Orleans, Evangeline meets a reclusive Julian and his mom and dad. His mom is plagued by something that no medical physician can diagnose, so the haunt huntresses are her only hope. Their worst fear appears in the form of a Rougarou, which is a Louisiana legend. When Gran gets hurt, it's up to Evangeline to finish the job and save Julian's mom.

It was exciting waiting for Evangeline's familiar to show up because I was eager to see what form it would take. I also really enjoyed the Cajun things in it that are signature to the south, like jambalaya and the rougarou. Being from Louisiana, it was neat seeing those aspects of the story play a part like it does in my every day life.


Final Verdict: This is perfect for fans of monsters, action, adventure, and myths. It's a Louisiana legend morphed into a story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The King's Daughter: A Girl Lost In Time
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summary: Wales 1294 A country...
Fiver Finds Home
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the world’s first blue dwarf giraffe! With five purple...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
Parachutes
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"I’d really like to advice all out there feeling depressed and broken hearted from relationship stress, there’s hope for dr..."
Rent a Boyfriend
 
5.0
"I'm not even sure where to begin with this review, to be honest, because I loved this book so much...."
Reclaimed
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
New Moon (Twilight #2)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Parachutes
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."