The Wishmakers

 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1687 0
The Wishmakers
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 27, 2018
ISBN
978-0062568311
Buy This Book
      
“Looking for a fantastically fast-paced and funny read? Your wish is granted!” —Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

Twelve-year-old Ace’s life is about to change in the most unexpected and magical ways—all because of a peanut butter jar.

When he opens it, he inadvertently releases a genie named Ridge. Now a Wishmaker, Ace is given a week to complete a seemingly impossible quest, and if he fails the world will end in the most tragic (but cuddly) way imaginable.

Luckily, Ridge can help by granting Ace an unlimited number of wishes…as long as Ace is willing to accept the consequences. The bigger the wish, the greater the consequence. So, if Ace wants to avoid having pogo sticks for legs or his clothes turn invisible, he'll have to be careful what he wishes for and get a little creative.

Perfect for fans of Dan Gutman and Max Brallier, this new middle grade series by Tyler Whitesides (author of the Janitors series) is a wonderful mix of unpredictable magic, zany humor, and daring adventure. You’ll wish it never ends!

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Be Careful For What You Wish!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Ace opens up a peanut butter jar without reading the warning label on the top... and unleashes a genie! Ridge is more than happy to grant wishes, but warns Ace that every wish requires some sort of sacrifice. The year's supply of peanut butter sandwiches comes at the cost of Ace wearing a smudge of peanut butter on his cheek for a year... and he gets all of the sandwiches at once! Even though they are individually bagged and will magically stay fresha a bit longer, this is not exactly what Ace meant. Ridge tells Ace that he must accept a quest or all of the cats and dogs in the world will turn into zombies. His quest is to find Thackary Anderthon and stop him from finding the Undiscovered Genie, who grants wishes that have no consequences. He can make wishes related to this quest to help him, but the price is usually high. (He does say no to replacing his legs with Pogo sticks-- permanently!) His quest becomes even more complicated when he meets fellow Wishmaker Tina and her genie Vale, and Tina's quest is to save a former Wishmaker... who happens to be Thackary Anderthone. When the quartet meet Thackery's son, Jathon, whose quest is also at cross purposes to the others, the trio start to wonder exactly how they can save the universe. They must travel all over on bizarre quests in order to stave off either the zombie pets, the constant raining of pianos, or the other terrible fates that could befall the world if they are not successful in figuring out what the universe requires of them.
Good Points
This was very fast paced and just goofy enough to be a solid hit with middle grade readers. As an adult, I appreciated that our Wishmakers had to confront a lot of difficult choices about what they were willing to pay in order to get their wishes. The characters were all sympathetic and likable, the world building very solid, and the goofiness just right. Lots of funny details, like Ace having to eat cotton candy that would leave his tongue permanently green, sneezing large grapes, and Thackery talking like a pirate (which must be a consequence of a wish) come to a brilliant culmination where Ace recounts the effects that all of his consequence have on him (page 167 of E ARC) in a tour de force combination of tween grossness and humor. In fact, I am nominating that paragraph for the single best piece of writing since Jon Scieszka's Stuckey Pecan Log incident in Knucklehead.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Genies and Unlimited Wishes!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Who would've thought opening a peanut butter jar would've been the beginning to Ace's quest? He's given the task to stop the Undiscovered Genie from being found because this genie can't grant wishes without consequences. Ridge (the Genie) can grant an unlimited amount of wishes to help Ace on his quest to stop Thackary Anderson from locating the Undiscovered Genie.

Ace is the only one who can save the world and on this quest he meets some interesting people, like Tina and her Genie Vale who have to help a former Wishmaker and Jathon, who is Thackary's son. Jathon wants to help his dad because he's had a troubled life and this will make up for it. With all of their paths crossing, how can Ace save the world?

This was such a fun book to read and it was very fast paced. I loved the story line and can't wait for the next one. THE WISHMAKERS is an original, unique story. I thought it was interesting that the genies came out of jars and can grant unlimited wishes. I also found myself eating a peanut butter sandwich while reading this.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this story to fans of magic, genies, and adventure. It was very entertaining and the second one can't come quick enough!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...

Latest Member Reviews

When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
"An imaginative story with a unique world. The Story: Sable is a witch who harbors..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"apologize if this is a long review but I have a lot to say. Going into this book, I went..."
Perfectly Misunderstood
 
4.0
"'Perfectly Misunderstood' by Robin Daniels tells the story of Jayden and Mike, two high school students who seem to be..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"I have found a new favorite! The Lost Legends by Cait Marie is the first book in her series The..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
4.7
"What an adventure! Dragon Rising by M. Lynn is the first in her new series The Hidden Warrior inspired by..."
The Rage
 
5.0
"The plot is fast-paced with vivid characters constantly challenging the exertion of power and violence. It is an accessible, complicated,..."
Of Beast and Beauty
 
3.8
"When Rosalie is forced to marry Prince Xander if Baist, she didn't know what to except with her new title..."
Adeline's Aria
 
3.8
"Addie has always been in love with the band Infernal Echo, especially their lead singer Jude. To her surprise, she..."
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
4.0
"Abby finds herself investigating when a girl is found dead on campus. She has been having strange dreams and the..."
Myth Management
 
4.5
"Emily goes to work at Myth Management HQ where it is her job to help control mythical creatures. When she..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"The story: Hua Minglan will sacrifice everything to avenge the death of her sister, and when war threatens her..."
Darkblood Academy
 
4.8
"AWESOME"
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.0
"Mia and Carson have always had it out for each other. But when Carson hits Mia in the face with..."
The N Word
 
5.0
"'Dating the Boy Next Door' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven is a wonderful sequel to the first book..."
My Name is Erin, and My Mom's an Addict
 
4.8
"Erin Whitaker's father is dead and her mother is a drug addict. When she is very young her mother..."
Spoken
 
4.5
"Roman has his life turned upside down when, amidst a scandal, his mom decides to leave LA. Roman must learn..."
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
N/A
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Wolf Girl: Finding Myself in the Wild
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."