Bat and The Waiting Game

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
684 0
Bat and The Waiting Game
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 27, 2018
ISBN
978-0062445858
Buy This Book
      
In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irresistible story of friendship in this widely acclaimed series starring an unforgettable boy on the autism spectrum.

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life is pretty great. He’s the caretaker of the best baby skunk in the world—even Janie, his older sister, is warming up to Thor.

When Janie gets a part in the school play and can’t watch Bat after school, it means some pretty big changes. Someone else has to take care of the skunk kit in the afternoons, Janie is having sleepovers with her new friends, and Bat wants everything to go back to normal.

He just has to make it to the night of Janie’s performance. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Simple, Profound, and Engaging
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Bixby Alexander Tam (AKA Bat) is happy spending time with Thor, the pet skunk kit that his mom has allowed him to nurture, and things are settling into a nice routine that helps Bat feel good about life. Then Bat's older sister, Janie, gets a part in the school play. That means Bat has to spend a couple of afternoons each week at his best friend's house. Israel is a good friend to Bat, and Bat thinks Israel's parents are fascinating, but Bat really likes being at home, and he worries about Thor being left alone on those days. Things are suddenly a little out of whack for Bat, and he needs to figure out how to deal with the disruptions that come with both major and minor changes.

BAT AND THE WAITING GAME by Elana K. Arnold is a simple, but engaging and profound story about a boy, his pet, friendship, and family relationships. It's also about living life on the autism spectrum, but that aspect of the book is so subtle it seems a perfect way to offer kids with autism a book in which they might recognize themselves while also educating their friends. THE WAITING GAME has plenty of valuable lessons woven into it. The author manages to educate the reader on skunks, the beauty and importance of sincere apologies, and the comfort to be found with friends and family--among other things.

BAT AND THE WAITING GAME has broad appeal. It would be great to read aloud to a class or an individual, and I think it has a lot to offer adults as well as its intended audience of 6-10 year olds. This is the second of Elana K. Arnold's books about Bat, and I certainly hope it won't be the last. Bat is completely charming, and I'm a definitely fan.

My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Good Points
The second book in this terrific series
Great characters
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nadya doesn’t trust her magic anymore. Serefin is fighting off...
Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...

Latest Member Reviews

The Okay Witch
 
4.0
"Moth lives in Founder's Bluff on the east coast, and her town has an annual celebration that celebrations the founders,..."
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
5.0
"Danny's family lives in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. The family has struggled financially, with his filmmaker father doing..."
Roll With It
 
5.0
"Ellie and her mother live in Nashville; her father left when she was young and has another family. Ellie loves..."
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
4.0
"Zoe lives in Boston with her mother and stepfather. Her best friend, Trevor, lives next door, but as summer starts,..."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
That's What Friends Do
 
4.0
"Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't..."
Catherine's War
 
5.0
"Catherine is living at the Sèvres Children's Home since both of her parents were taken. It has a progessive school,..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
"CHRISTMAS CHEER FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG talks about everything exciting Christmas has to offer. There's snowflakes, fires, bells, presents, stockings,..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
"LAUGH OUT LOUD HALLOWEEN JOKES is full of cute jokes that are perfect for children aged four and up. The..."
Little Tigers
 
4.0
"After hearing humans and their dogs nearby, Mother Tiger knows it's time for them to find somewhere safer to live...."
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
"Fans of the Explorer Academy series won't want to miss out on this Codebreaking Activity Adventure. Enter into Explorer Academy..."