Bat and The Waiting Game

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
730 0
Bat and The Waiting Game
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 27, 2018
ISBN
978-0062445858
Buy This Book
      
In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irresistible story of friendship in this widely acclaimed series starring an unforgettable boy on the autism spectrum.

For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life is pretty great. He’s the caretaker of the best baby skunk in the world—even Janie, his older sister, is warming up to Thor.

When Janie gets a part in the school play and can’t watch Bat after school, it means some pretty big changes. Someone else has to take care of the skunk kit in the afternoons, Janie is having sleepovers with her new friends, and Bat wants everything to go back to normal.

He just has to make it to the night of Janie’s performance. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Simple, Profound, and Engaging
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Bixby Alexander Tam (AKA Bat) is happy spending time with Thor, the pet skunk kit that his mom has allowed him to nurture, and things are settling into a nice routine that helps Bat feel good about life. Then Bat's older sister, Janie, gets a part in the school play. That means Bat has to spend a couple of afternoons each week at his best friend's house. Israel is a good friend to Bat, and Bat thinks Israel's parents are fascinating, but Bat really likes being at home, and he worries about Thor being left alone on those days. Things are suddenly a little out of whack for Bat, and he needs to figure out how to deal with the disruptions that come with both major and minor changes.

BAT AND THE WAITING GAME by Elana K. Arnold is a simple, but engaging and profound story about a boy, his pet, friendship, and family relationships. It's also about living life on the autism spectrum, but that aspect of the book is so subtle it seems a perfect way to offer kids with autism a book in which they might recognize themselves while also educating their friends. THE WAITING GAME has plenty of valuable lessons woven into it. The author manages to educate the reader on skunks, the beauty and importance of sincere apologies, and the comfort to be found with friends and family--among other things.

BAT AND THE WAITING GAME has broad appeal. It would be great to read aloud to a class or an individual, and I think it has a lot to offer adults as well as its intended audience of 6-10 year olds. This is the second of Elana K. Arnold's books about Bat, and I certainly hope it won't be the last. Bat is completely charming, and I'm a definitely fan.

My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Good Points
The second book in this terrific series
Great characters
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...
A Betrayal Exposed (Not Every Girl Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Davenport’s life is finally going smoothly, until if falls...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best friends,...
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible. Have...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. ...
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Will Tavares is the dream summer fling―he's fun, affectionate, kind―but...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Defending everything they know could cost them everything they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They wanted a chance; they were given a choice: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Under pressure. Under fire. Some will rise...and some will...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The action of Hunger Games, the scope of Maze Runner,...
Lucky Caller
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the warmth, wit, intimate friendships, and heart-melting romance...
Echoes Between Us
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Veronica sees ghosts―more specifically, her mother’s ghost. The afterimages...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."
His Hideous Heart
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: I read various poems and short stories written by Edgar Allen Poe as early..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.0
"THE VANISHING STAIR continues the TRULY DEVIOUS plot as Stevie returns to the enigmatic private school, Ellingham. Stevie becomes more..."
Truly Devious
 
3.3
"TRULY DEVIOUS is a YA mystery that takes place at an enigmatic high school. Ellingham was founded by a very..."
Shadowscent
 
3.7
"Rakel wants nothing more than to get a well-paying job since she's so skilled with scents. Her father his what's..."
Lucky Caller
 
5.0
"LUCKY CALLER was a lovely, light-hearted read with just the perfect amount of heart. Nina lives with her mother and..."