Battle for Bearhaven (Secrets of Bearhaven #4)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1088 0
Battle for Bearhaven (Secrets of Bearhaven #4)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 17, 2017
ISBN
9780545813068
Buy This Book
      
Spencer Plain is ready to help build a new Bearhaven--a place where bears live in community and help rescue other bears around the world. But the city itself is in trouble now--the evil Pam wants to capture the bears and sell them, and it's up to the Council to move the city to a safe, new location.

Except that Pam shows up right in the middle of their move, cutting off Spencer from his parents and kidnapping most of the Bearhaven bears. Spencer doesn't know how to keep the free bears safe, save the captured bears, and get word to his parents at the new Bearhaven all at once, but he's going to have to figure it out, fast, to stop Pam once and for all!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Don't mess with the bears!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Spencer has enjoyed being with the bears in Bearhaven, especially with his friend, Kate, but the bears have not had an easy time of it. After rescuing his parents in Hidden Rock Rescue, Spencer still has to deal with the evil Pam and his sidekick Margo, who have planted microchips in over 80 bears and have created an evil army to try to wipe out Bearhaven. They're doing a good job so far, and have attacked and set fire to the settlement. Spencer has managed to escape and gone with eight bears to his friend Kirby's house to try to formulate a plan. He calls his parents, who want him to get on the TUBE and get to them, but Spence really wants to take Pam down. The group has found an injured bear doorstep and rescued her, removing a microchip and treating her head wound. Sneaking into Pam's camp, Spencer and Kirby manage to drain a lot of the tranquilizer darts, but there's still a lot of work to do in order to save Bearhaven from those who wish it ill.
Good Points
This was nonstop action, and a very clean fight showcasing good against evil. All that Spencer has learned about the bears comes into play, and his dedication to saving the bears and their world is admirable. The bears certainly are fighting as well, which is even more difficult since Pam has managed to turn so many of them into his evil army.

This definitely feels like the last book in the series, because so many of the loose ends are tidied up. Spencer's parents are safe and able to assist him a little, the bears have to move on from the destruction of most of their settlement, and Pam is dealt with. I did appreciate that Kirby was brought in on the action, since she has been a stalwart supporter of the bears and of Spencer.

Fans of Hunter's Warriors or Seekers series will enjoy the animal portion of this series, but readers who just like a good action and adventure tale with lots of fighting will appreciate that Spencer can actually communicate with the bears. Series seem to do better when they are shorter than five books, so that readers don't lose interest, so Secrets of Bearhaven delivers a compact punch of world building, conflict and speedy resolution.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."