Lucky Enough

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1399 0
Lucky Enough
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 01, 2018
ISBN
9781561459575
Buy This Book
      
Trey is overjoyed when his lucky charm helps him make the travel team, but will his luck hold out?
When Trey's treasured lucky charm―a piece of blue sea glass he found near his grandmother's beach house―"helps" him make it onto the Ravens travel team with his friend Cole, he is overjoyed. This stroke of good fortune reinforces his superstitious behavior, and the rituals become more and more important to him. In spite of some teasing and even some sarcasm from his teammates, Trey persists―he never steps on the foul line, he obsessively taps the corners of home plate when he's at bat, he always chooses the same lucky bat―and the list just keeps getting longer. Why stop? After all, his tactics are working; he's doing quite well on the field and in the batter's box. Then one day he can't find his lucky sea glass. He and Cole search everywhere―but it's no use. Trey's performance begins to slip, and he is convinced that his future with the Ravens is doomed. It is no comfort to him to learn that many pro baseball players also depended on lucky charms or rituals. Things don't start to improve for Trey until his uncle reminds him of his grandmother's favorite saying: "The harder you work, the luckier you get."

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lucky to read this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Trey is very reliant on his good luck charm; a piece of deep blue sea glass that his grandmother game him before she passed away. He is sure it's what helps him to make the tryouts for the Ravens, a travel baseball team. Things are a little rough in Trey's world, since his parents divorced when he was five, and he and his mother sometimes struggle to make ends meet. He does have an Uncle Dave who occasionally visits, and he often hangs out with his friend Cole's family, so he has lots of support. When he loses his lucky charm, he starts to worry. He and Cole search everywhere, and even ask the groundskeeper, Mr. Kiley, if he has seen it. Mr. Kiley opines that it is possible to make one's own luck through hard work and practice, so Trey throws himself into a regimen to help improve his game.
Good Points
It's touching that Trey has fond memories of his grandmother, and interesting that more light is shed on her interactions with him by his mother. There is a sign from the grandmother's beach house hanging in Trey's kitchen that says "If you're lucky enough to live near the sea, you're lucky enough", but Trey didn't remember how hard his grandmother had to work in order to end up in that beach house. He is given a new appreciation for both her and his philosophy after losing his lucky charm.

Many students are not living with their fathers, for a variety of reasons, and it's good to see that reflected in literature. While it's difficult at times, Trey does have other supportive adults in his life and manages to enjoy time with his mother.

As always, Bowen's sports details are exquisite and even include rosters, score sheets, and other facets that I don't even begin to understand. The brief chapter at the end about famous ball players and their superstitions was very interesting and might lead readers to research some of these players.

Readers who aren't quite ready for Mike Lupica and Tim Green but need a bit more meat to their stories that those by David A. Kelly or Claudia Mills will enjoy Bowen's books, which are definitely a new millennium replacement for the much beloved but increasingly dated Matt Christopher titles.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."