A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic #1)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
688 0
A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 02, 2018
ISBN
978-0062498465
Buy This Book
      
Leonora Logroño’s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival.

Leo hopes that this might be the year that she gets to help prepare for the big celebration—but, once again, she is told she’s too young. Sneaking out of school and down to the bakery, she discovers that her mother, aunt, and four older sisters have in fact been keeping a big secret: they’re brujas—witches of Mexican ancestry—who pour a little bit of sweet magic into everything that they bake.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Enchanted Cookies
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Leo (Leonora) is tired of being the youngest of five girls, all of whom get to work at their mother's bakery on a school day the day before the town of Rose Hill, Texas' celebration of Día de Muertos. She is so angry that she skips out of school during the Halloween parade to spy on her family, and finds that there is magic involved in the bakery! When she goes to the celebration, she hangs out with Caroline, who had moved away to Houston but is back after the death of her mother. Caroline and her father are getting along fairly well, but Leo still feels a bit awkward around her friend. Brent, Caroline's next door neighbor, brought over her homework and visited her every day since the beginning of the school year. Leo feels bad that she wasn't a better friend, and Caroline is thankful that Brent visited but didn't belabor her grief. After Leo finds out about the magic, she tries to get more information from her sisters about what she will be able to do. The girls are not initiated until they are 15, and Leo does not want to wait four more years, so she borrows the magical recipe book and makes some attempts at magical baking which go fairly well. Buoyed by her successes, she decides to tell Caroline about her skills when Caroline mentions that she wrote Brent a thank you note, and he is now avoiding her. Leo tries a romance cookie that makes Brent fall in love with the whole world, and when she tries to remove the spell, things go terribly wrong and she must go to her family for help. In the end, her mother tells Leo that she has to follow the rules of magic and to talk to her family about her plans
Good Points
The Texas setting and the description of Leo's supportive, involved family are very nice. While Leo's sisters aren't mean to her, they do treat her like a small child, and I think that is a realistic family dynamic. Caroline's situation is not overly dramatized, and it's good to see her and her father making small strides toward the new normal. The inclusion of Latinx culture by an #ownvoices writer in a very natural way was delightful.

Young readers will empathize with Leo's position in her family, and understand why she takes the chances that she does in order to keep up with her older sisters. Magic still seems vaguely possible to middle grade readers, and what better way to practice magic than to enchant a batch of brownies?

There are a growing number of books that include magic in cooking; Callaghan's Just Add Magic, Dunbar's The Truth Cookie, Giada De Laurentiis's Recipe for Adventure series and Littlewood's Bliss. This first book in the Love Sugar Magic series is sure to make the reading menu of wannabe bakers everywhere.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."