TBH, This is SO Awkward

 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1325 0
TBH, This is SO Awkward
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 02, 2018
ISBN
0062689924
Buy This Book
      
Cecily, Prianka, and Gabby—CPG4Eva—have been BFFAE since birth. So they’d rather chat about life and their first boy-girl party WITHOUT the new girl texting them all the time. They aren’t exactly mean to her. But they aren’t exactly nice.

To be honest, mistakes are made.

The question is, where do they go from here?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Trying to Fit In
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written almost entirely in text messages. In this day and age, text messages are the norm, and kids would often rather talk via text than spend time on the phone. Even when they are seeing each other, more often than not they can be found with phone in hand. So, it comes as no surprise that main characters Gabby, Cecily, and Prianka (G, C, and P when sending texts) have their messaging down pat. Having been best friends since forever, they are so used to talking to each other that they find it difficult to include the new girl at school, Victoria, in their group chats.

Victoria already feels out of place, but when she tries to begin chatting with the girls after being paired up with one of them as a reading partner, she begins to feel left out in the cold. In some ways, this is understandable. She has started at a new school and is struggling to fit in, while doing everything she can to make herself feel like she does fit in. She talks to her old friends at home, and it is clear she misses them. Yet it feels a little over the top that when she doesn't get to be friends right away with the girls she's aiming to be friends with that her mother steps in, talking to the principal about it. Even though it is clear that some kindness needs to be worked on throughout the storyline, it also feels as though a point is trying to be made about bullying, but everyone does have the right to be friends with whomever they please, without anyone telling them what they can or can't do. The book does a nice job making a point of this, showing multiple viewpoints from the text messages of different characters and showing how there are, in fact, multiple perspectives to everything. One person's opinion on a matter doesn't constitute the only opinion, and this is a vital point for anyone, from middle school students to adults, to understand.

It is important to remember that the girls in this story are middle school students. They are trying to find their place in school, but while some have friends, others are trying to create new friendships. The story is true to the conundrum that many middle schoolers find themselves in. There are so many ways to second guess oneself, and middle school is a time when many do just that. Empathy is an all-important subject that must be broached, and Greenwald does a fine job of showing how text messages, whether written in jest or sent accidentally, causing undue pain, can truly affect people's feelings and thought processes.

A worthwhile and fast read that will help any reader understand the lengths one wants to take to fit in and the trouble that can go along with it all.
Good Points
A worthwhile and fast read that will help any reader understand the lengths one wants to take to fit in and the trouble that can go along with it all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
OMG, you'll LOL
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Gabby, Priyanka and Cecily have been friends for a long time, but settling into middle school is taking some time. They aren't supposed to be texting during school hours, but they manage to use the small moments they can find to keep each other updated by text or e mail on everything that is going on. They all have their issues-- Gabby's parents are divorced and she may have to move, Priyanka has a crush on a boy, and Cecily gets caught in them middle of new girl Victoria's attempt to break into her social circle by getting involved in the dance committee the girls are on. Victoria is a bit pushy, as is her mother, who e mails the principal and the PTA when she feels her daughter is being ignored. The principal decides that if students can't be kind to each other while using social media, there will be no school dance, so the girls have to band together to make sure that the dance is a reality. This is told entirely through text with a LOT Of emojis.
Good Points
Today's readers will be very familiar with this format, and trying to read a story about people they don't know might be an interesting exercise in determining how much is NOT conveyed through text messages! It is kind of amazing how much of the characters' personalities is conveyed in very few words, and I enjoyed this more than I thought I would, not being overly literate in text speak!

Drama, problems with friends, and misunderstandings are a very large part of the middle school experience, and it's interesting to see that while the technology of communication can change, the problems with it never do! I especially liked the character of the overly protective mother who keeps e mailing the principal-- readers will be all too familiar with this type of parent, and will either cringe with understanding or be very glad that THEIR parents aren't this overbearing!

Readers who like Greenwald's work or similar stories like Myracle's ttyl series will enjoy this fast paced story. It even has an on trend aqua green color highlighting the text messages!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."