Karma Khullar's Mustache

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1026 0
Karma Khullar's Mustache
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 15, 2017
ISBN
978-1481477703
Buy This Book
      
In the tradition of Judy Blume, debut author Kristi Wientge tackles the uncomfortable—but all too relatable—subject of female body hair and self-esteem with this “sparkling and triumphant tale of a middle school misfit” (Heather Vogel Frederick).

Karma Khullar is about to start middle school, and she is super nervous. Not just because it seems like her best friend has found a newer, blonder best friend. Or the fact that her home life is shaken up by the death of her dadima. Or even that her dad is the new stay-at-home parent, leading her mother to spend most of her time at work. But because she’s realized that she has seventeen hairs that have formed a mustache on her upper lip.

With everyone around her focused on other things, Karma is left to figure out what to make of her terrifyingly hairy surprise all on her own.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

an entertaining tale that makes middle school seeem less awful
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
WHAT I LOVED:
Karma and the rest of the cast are flawed, well-drawn characters all too much like the soulless demons we all were in middle school. All of us. It's just a fact that every child loses their soul while they're in middle school and can only get it back upon entering high school. Anyway, after the new girl gets everyone started teasing Karma for the small mustache growing on her face, she turns to her faith as a way to cope with and rise above the bullying. Also, she ends up having a very bloody excursion with shaving that demonstrates why I prefer my hair removal lotion.

Honestly, putting into detail why Karma and her story enchanted me so is difficult. It's more easily spelled out in bulletpoint fashion: relatable situations like how much it sucks to lose your best friend as you start middle school, on-point humor, the frank way it deals with the rarely-talked-about issue of body hair, my desire to wrap Karma up in a blanket and keep her safe from the world...

Lemme tell you a story and I swear it has a point. In elementary and middle school, I had a bully named Kaely. We were in all the same classes and she always sat behind me due to adjacent surnames. Generally, I was terrible at effectively fighting back against my bullies, but after years of her grading my papers wrong. I was DONE by the time we hit eighth grade. The straw that broke my back was her dumping the dirt from her shoes all over my schoolbooks when we were in American History. (We had the desks you stored your stuff underneath in wire baskets and she used mine as a footrest.)

My solution: do what I usually do, which was ask her politely to stop. If she didn't, I'd just leeeeeeean down like I was going to get something from my stuff and stab her feet through the holes in her tennis shoes. These instances were the only times I ever took up any physical or verbal arms against a bully.

I do not recommend this course of action to anyone, but it demonstrates the situational courage I wanted to lend Karma and how much I cared about her. It only worked because I had the perfect conditions in place. The teacher absolutely loved me (it's always been like this with my teachers and I'm not sure why) and he did not like Kaely one little bit because she was a chatterbox. Therefore, when I'd strike back, he didn't do anything when she complained. Well, he did nothing until he moved her elsewhere solely because she wouldn't stop talking with her seat neighbors during class. Then my problem was solved!

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
The only way I don't recommend Karma Khullar's Mustache is if you're the type who is deeply affected by secondhand embarrassment. That may sounds a little odd, but I've met readers for whom secondhand embarrassment via a fictional character is a real problem that keeps them from reading a book--and Karma goes through a lot of embarrassing stuff. I'm not usually bothered by such things and even I had to put down the book sometimes because I was cringing so hard on Karma's behalf.

FINAL VERDICT:
No matter where your body hair falls on the spectrum of out of control (Karma's) to barely a problem (mine), Karma Khullar's Mustache is an entertaining tale that accomplishes the nigh-impossible by making you look back fondly on middle school. Body hair is still a pain and a half, but it course be worse. Like that time period blood stained the back of my pants thoroughly and no one told me until the end of the day. (At least no one teased me about it afterward. I suppose they draw a line somewhere.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."