The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)

The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (Bea Garcia)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
June 06, 2017
ISBN
978-0147513137
Buy This Book
      
Bea’s artistic gifts lead to a special new friendship in book two of this funny illustrated chapter book series for fans of Amelia’s Notebook and Judy Moody

Bea Garcia is looking for a new best friend, and she almost has one—the smartest girl in school, Judith Einstein. So when Einstein asks Bea to be her partner in the upcoming school geography contest, Bea is thrilled...at first. Schoolwork comes so easily to Einstein that Bea thinks the secret might be Einstein's special pencil. But when Bea takes Einstein's pencil home, it's not quite what she expected.

Editor review

1 review
Great First Chapter Book
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
With Bea's best friend now living in Australia, she discovers a new possible friendship with Einstein. Judith Einstein that is and she's super smart. Bea loves to draw, but has trouble writing the answers instead of forming a picture.

When Einstein picks Bea to be her partner in the Top Ten Geography Star Search contest, Bea is certain they're going to win. Einstein knows everything, or so Bea thinks. When Einstein gives Bea some facts to study, Bea struggles. Then, an idea forms.

If Bea had Einstein's pencil, then all of the answers would just spill out and she wouldn't have to worry about being wrong. Bea quickly realizes that things don't work like that and gets so angry, that she feels as if she's turning into a monster. Bea blames the pencil because it's cursed, so Bea needs to find a new way to study. Before she knows it, it's time for the contest. Instead of bombing, Bea discovers that everyone has their own talent.


Final Verdict: This would be a good first chapter book for children who are interested in drawing and friendship. There were also some interesting facts from when Einstein answers a question.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account