Rulers of the Playground

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1087 0
Rulers of the Playground
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
April 18, 2017
ISBN
978-0062424327
Buy This Book
      
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in a playground setting from Joseph Kuefler, the author/illustrator of Beyond the Pond. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers.

One morning, Jonah decided to become ruler of the playground.

Everyone agreed to obey his rules to play in King Jonah’s kingdom . . .

Everyone except for Lennox . . . because she wanted to rule the playground, too.

A gloriously rendered, hilariously deadpan tale of playground politics.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Argument for Democracy
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jonah wants to rule the playground. And he’s a good ruler. Except when he’s not. The problem is that Lennox also wants to rule the playground. She’s also a good ruler. Except when she’s not. The rest of the children follow first one then the other as the two kingdoms grow larger and larger. An intense struggle for territory ensues, reminiscent of colonial pursuits such as the so-called “Scramble for Africa” in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Eventually, when Jonah and Lennox realize that their friends have abandoned them, they must make a new plan to apologize and restore the playground to the people.

Kuefler’s illustrations are expressive and charming and portray a racially diverse group of children. Notably, both Jonah and Lennox wear royal clothing unlike the rest of the students. At times, the text is a touch heavy-handed (such as when Jonah and Lennox plan to “create a democracy”), but moralistic though the story is, it has a moral worth exploring. What complicates the seemingly simple message of the story further is the final page, which reveals that Augustine, another child, is now pursuing royal dreams of her own. Does the book suggest that there will always be a threat to democracy? Is the book about the ever-shifting nature of childhood friendships? I’d strongly recommend this book to those willing to take up in conversation with children not just the superficial message of the book, but the underlying themes in it.
Good Points
Charming illustrations.

Has potential to initiate conversations about politics and democracy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Let's find out which toys Rosa and her friends are...
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Travel by land, sea, and air in this bright and...
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Florida! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts to...
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrated author and illustrator Henry Cole returns with a page-turning...
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This jovial frolic through the city and woods celebrates ingenuity...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting...
The Sacrifice of One
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Who would want to execute my brother? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the same...

Latest Member Reviews

Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."
Mermaid Life: The Joy of Making Waves
 
5.0
"MERMAID LIFE is a fun collection of artwork themed around mermaids. With a few fun facts, silly moments, and inspirational..."
Yawn
 
4.5
"YAWN is a cute book about the contagious nature of yawns. A little boy begins a yawn that carries through..."
The Bear in the Boat
 
4.5
"THE BEAR IN THE BOAT is a sweet story of kindness and helping your neighbors. A storm is arriving, and..."
It's Bath Time! (Indestructibles)
 
4.5
"IT'S BATH TIME! is an adorable installment in the Indestructibles series. The book features baby animals and baby who have..."
I Really, Really Need to Pee!
 
4.0
"I REALLY, REALLY NEED TO PEE! is a silly picture book about a bush baby that is out and about..."
Bloom
 
4.5
"BLOOM is a sweet picture book about the power of kind words. A young girl passes by a beautiful flower..."
Aru Shah and the City of Gold
 
5.0
"***This review contains spoilers for the prior series installment, book 3, ARU SHAH AND THE TREE OF WISHES** With..."
Mia Mayhem Steals the Show!
 
5.0
"An adorable story about an upbeat superhero girl. Mia is a superhero, a fact only her best friend..."