Beyond the Doors

Beyond the Doors
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2017
ISBN
978-1101935828
Buy This Book
      
Fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Coraline will devour this dark and creepy, humor-laced tale about four siblings who discover a mysterious world where secrets hide around every corner.

When a family disaster forces the four Rothbaum children to live with their aunt Gladys, they immediately know there is something strange about their new home. The crazy, circular house looks like it stepped out of a scary movie. The front entrance is a four-story-tall drawbridge. And the only food in Aunt Gladys’s kitchen is an endless supply of Honey Nut Oat Blast Ring-a-Dings cereal.

Strangest of all are the doors—there are none. Every doorway is a wide-open passageway—even the bathroom! Who lives in a house with no doors?

Their unease only grows when Aunt Gladys disappears for long stretches of time, leaving them alone to explore the strange house. When they discover just what Aunt Gladys has been doing with all her doors, the shocked siblings embark on an adventure that changes everything they believe about their family and the world.

Editor review

1 review
Don't Touch the Doors
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
When their dad falls into a coma and their mom is nowhere to be found, the Rothbaum siblings are forced to reside with the only relative that's still living, even though they don't know her. Aunt Gladys is a quirky, eccentric woman who puts them on edge. But what's even stranger than their aunt is the amount of doors she possesses.

When Aunt Gladys appears out of a door that isn't attached to a wall, Janice, Sydney, Alexa, and Zack decide to investigate it. They find themselves in the past, or rather a memory of the past according to Aunt Gladys. Memory hopping is dangerous because you lose a piece of yourself each time and you can alter people's memories.

I loved that the siblings bickered but had each other's backs when it came down to it. They were all strong in their own ways and showed what it meant to be family. I loved the idea that doors hold memories. It's original and very intriguing.


Final Verdict: BEYOND THE DOORS in an original story that reminded me of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and I would recommend it to fans of middle grade fiction with strange, abnormal characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account