Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1302 0
Going Wild #2: Predator vs. Prey
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 03, 2017
ISBN
978-0062337177
Buy This Book
      
The Going Wild series highlights the unbelievable (and completely true) abilities that animals possess, and it’s perfect for Marvel fans and middle grade readers who enjoy an exciting mix of action, humor, and heart. “Fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull will not be disappointed,” proclaimed School Library Journal.

In Predator vs. Prey, Charlie Wilde’s dad has been abducted by masked figures who might not even be completely human. And it will take more than her incredible bracelet—which gives her powers from the animal kingdom—to rescue him.

Luckily, Charlie’s friends now have bracelets of their own with all-new abilities…they just have to work through a few issues first. Maria’s device has hair-raising side effects. Mac can’t wait to hack into his. And their frenemy, Kelly, swears hers is a dud. If Charlie is going to have any hope of saving her dad—and the world—from their beastly foes, she’ll have to help her friends master their powers and come together as a team.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fly like a bird! Sting like a bee!
(Updated: August 22, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
After getting involved with Project Chimera in Going Wild, Charlie and her mother and brother Andy are struggling with the kidnapping of her father. Maria and Mac are both having problem controlling when they change into animals, and Maria frequently sprouts a tail. When Charlie finds in formation her father left ten years ago, she and her mother contact Dr. Quinn Sharma and get more information, especially about the evil Dr. Gray who wants the Mark bracelets that let the children turn into different animals. Kelly, who also had a bracelet, claims to have thrown hers away, but is later interviewed by the news for performing an amazing rescue. She blabs the secret of the bracelet, endangering everyone. Charlie and her friends try to find Dr. Gray and take care of him, but are up against the soldiers he is creating. Kelly goes missing, but when she returns decides to join Gray's side. The story definitely is wide open for a sequel.
Good Points
I did really appreciate that Charlie's mother remained with them and helped them through the whole process. That's unusual in middle grade literature, since preteen children must save the world without adult intervention, but this seems more realistic, and is a nice change.

There's lots of action, an evil villain, and the ability to acquire super skills from animals. My students adore this author and will be thrilled to see this. Teachers will appreciate the information about skills and adaptations that animals have, since STEM books are gaining ground.

Readers who enjoy books with clans of animals battling each other (Hunter's Warriors, Iserles' Foxcraft, Hughes' Unnaturals, Sutherland's The Menagerie) will find that Going Wild gives them the opportunity not only to read about the animals but to imagine themselves with the animal powers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that's...
Darknessontheedgeoftown.jpg
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Chief Jim Hopper reveals long-awaited secrets to Eleven about...
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized...
Air Awakens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable...
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in...
Girl Gone Ghost
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gripping psychological thriller. Inspired by a serial killer...
Every Stolen Breath
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Swarm is unrecognizable, untraceable, and unpredictable—random attacks on the...
Cursed Beauty
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aurora Rose Brynhild is out of time. ...
The C Word
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Addison: Secrets have a way of getting out....
Aphelion
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ky isn’t your typical seventeen-year-old girl. She's an alien hunter.Ky...
Announcing Trouble
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I may know everything there is to know about baseball,...
Seneca Lake
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1944, and high school senior Meg Michaels has always...
Freshman Witch
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Of course, magic is real. Everybody knows that. ...
Sarai and The Around The World Fair
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Sarai outgrows her bike, she worries she'll never get...
Of Beast and Beauty
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
7 vengeful sisters 7 fairytale kingdoms 7 daughters...
The Pepper Party Picks The Perfect Pet (The Pepper Party, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the Peppers. Funny runs in the family....

Latest Member Reviews

Every Stolen Breath
 
5.0
"Transparency is the key in business and human dealings, i got onlineghosthacker247 @gmail dot com email, on here thinking that..."
Every Stolen Breath
 
4.0
"EVERY STOLEN BREATH is an engrossing read that follows Lia as she attempts to uncover her father's killers. Every so..."
Fangs & Fins
 
3.3
"Ivy and Ember are thrown together when their parents marry. One a popular girl, the other a bookworm, they start..."
Announcing Trouble
 
5.0
"Making me smile all the way through, ANNOUNCING TROUBLE was a pure delight. Josie is almost eighteen with an enormous..."
Darkness on the Edge of Town (Stranger Things )
 
4.7
"Darkness on the Edge of Town is a fascinating glimpse into Hopper's past. Being a big fan of Hopper since..."
Moon Water: A Novel
 
3.3
"MOON WATER follows Nettie in the summer of 1969 when her life is in turmoil. Nettie is 16 years old..."
The Memory Thief
 
4.7
"THE MEMORY THIEF is an engrossing YA fantasy that will keep you turning pages late into the night. Etta lives..."
Watch Us Rise
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Readers get a dual POV novel narrated by Jasmine, a fat Black girl, and Chelsea, a..."
Meet the Sky
 
5.0
"MEET THE SKY is a beautiful story about loss, life, and love. Sophie lives with her mother and sister, who..."
She's the Liar
 
5.0
"'She's the Liar' by Alison Cherry is about sisters Abby and Sydney and their time together at Brookside Academy. Abby,..."
The Speed of Falling Objects
 
5.0
"THE SPEED OF FALLING OBJECTS begins with a bang- Danny has been in a plane crash and is lost in..."
Let's Call It a Doomsday
 
4.0
"LET'S CALL IT A DOOMSDAY follows Ellis, a teenager who is Mormon and has an anxiety disorder. Eliis is in..."
A Dress for the Wicked
 
5.0
"A DRESS FOR THE WICKED is a lush and enthralling YA historical fiction that feels anything but historical! Emmaline (Emmy)..."
Rated
 
3.3
"RATED follows six teens in alternating points-of-view as they navigate a dystopian future. In this society, your life is dictated..."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"Truly Madly Royally was a cute-ish read that lacked a certain something to take it fully over the edge. ..."
Under The Moon: A Catwoman Tale
 
4.0
"UNDER THE MOON brings us into the teenage years of Selina Kyle, who will eventually become Catwoman. Selina has a..."
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."