Wedgie & Gizmo

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2924 0
Wedgie & Gizmo
Age Range
6+
Release Date
August 22, 2017
ISBN
978-0062447630
Buy This Book
      
When a bouncy, barky dog and an evil genius guinea pig move into the same house, the laughs are nonstop! Wedgie is so excited, he can’t stop barking. He LOVES having new siblings and friends to protect. He LOVES guinea pigs like Gizmo! He also LOVES treats!

But Gizmo does not want to share his loyal human servant with a rump-sniffing beast! He does not want to live in a pink Barbie Playhouse. Or to be kissed and hugged by the girl human. Gizmo is an evil genius. He wants to take over the world and make all humans feel his wrath. But first he must destroy his archenemy, Wedgie, once and for all!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Every Day Needs an Evil Plan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Wedgie is a corgi who belongs to Jasmine, Jackson and their mother, who has just married Elliot's dad. Since Elliot is the faithful servant of Gizmo, a guinea pig with delusions of grandeur, not only do the families need to learn to live together, the pets do, too. Everything is cool with Wedgie-- he thinks the "furry potato" smells good and is interesting. Gizmo is less than thrilled with matters. He home was destroyed in the move, and he is temporarily housed in a Barbie Dream House, which is NOT properly equipped for his plans for world domination. Also, Jasmine likes to put him in sparkly tutus. After a week in her room, even his poop has sparkles in it! Both animals get into a variety of scrapes. Gizmo eats too much cereal and has to go to the vet. He also tries to lure Wedgie into the Pool of a Thousand Pees to neutralize him, and attempts to mail Jasmine's abuela, who is from Peru, back home because he is afraid she will want to EAT him. Wedgie tries to endear himself to Elliot as well as the elderly dog next door. When Gizmo decides to run away because of his alleged poor treatment, the family worries about him. Is Wedgie really a super hero who can save the day?
Good Points
This is a great family oriented story for younger middle grade readers who like books with some illustrations in them. Rissi's Anna, Banana, Tan's Cilla Lee-Jenkins and Sheth's The No-Dogs-Allowed Rule all have similar family issues but supportive families. Elliot is sad that his friends are not nearby, especially when his birthday appproaches, but the younger Jasmine and Jackson are pleased with the new people and places in their lives.

The stars, of course, are the effervescent Wedgie who loves his super hero cape and always tries to save the day, and the plotting evil genius Gizmo. Gizmo embraces my own philosophy-- every day needs an Evil Plan. The illustrations be Barbara Fisinger capture Wedgie's ebullience as well as Gizmo's disdain for it, and add a lot to the charm of the book.

Having had both a dog who would be thrilled if I had a Biju Ting Ting Scalp Massager to use on her butt and a dwarf hamster who managed to break out of his HabitTrail and narrowly escape a harrowing death, I know that the characters of both animals are very realistic. For the best reading experience, grab a bag of cheese puffs and your favorite fuzzy creature and crawl into your nest to read the amusing adventures of a super pet combo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."