Hamstersaurus Rex vs. Squirrel Kong

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
609 0
Hamstersaurus Rex vs. Squirrel Kong
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 27, 2017
ISBN
9780062377562
Buy This Book
      
SQUIRREL ATTACK! Sam Gibbs and his super-strong tiny buddy, Hamstersaurus Rex, are back in this hilarious classroom comedy, perfect for fans of Dog Man and Stick Dog—and for anybody who might be entertained by a mutant rodent showdown.

Sam and Hammie Rex discover a terrifying giant squirrel hiding in the woods behind Horace Hotwater Middle School. But nobody else believes Squirrel Kong is real.

Then Hammie Rex takes the blame for Squirrel Kong’s destructive rampages, and the principal threatens to send him away to home for dangerous, troubled small pets. To save his hamster friend, can Sam prove that Squirrel Kong is the true menace?

Expect mysterious mutations, deliciously gross snack foods, and an epic battle with the world’s most fearsome squirrel in this outrageously funny second installment in the Hamstersaurus Rex series.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

And you thought Cheeto dust was bad...
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Sam and his friend Dylan aren't quite in the clear after the events of Hamstersaurus Rex, especially when there is an attack on their school, and Hammie is blamed. The Principal Truitt wants to locate him to the Irma Bergstrom Memorial Home for Troubled Small Pets, based on the video footage that Sam was taking for his Chinchillazilla vs. MechaChinchillazilla movie, but Sam knows the truth-- the school is being menaced by a giant, ferocious squirrel. While Hammie would savage a bag of Funchos Spicy Wasabi and French Onion Flavor-Wedges, he's a good hamstersaurus at heart. Dylan is preparing for the big disc golf tournament so that the Maple Bluffs Discwhippers can trounce their opponents, but Sam has seen suspicious activity involving a quadcopter spraying Funchos dust and encouraging Squirrel Kong to attack. He suspects the SmilesCorp is involved, and when he breaks into their secret lab, he finds an unlikely ally, as well as proof that some of the adults in Maple Bluffs are hiding big secrets. Can Sam, with the help of Hamster Monitor and generally brilliant go-to doll docent Martha, figure out how Squirrel Kong evolved and manage to save Maple Bluffs as well as Hammie?
Good Points
O'Donnell has a real way with words, and I would have laughed even if this were just a list of funny phrases; I totally needed a PETCATRAZ cage when my daughter had Gimli, her dwarf hamster! From Sam's mother calling him Bunny Butt to the doll in the museum made of beef jerky, this book kept me snorting from the random, funny descriptions and names. Combine this with Tim Miller's excellent depictions of a giant, ravenous squirrel and twitchy, ever-ravenous hamstersaurus, and there's a laugh on every page.

Sam's single minded determination to save Hammie and to do the right thing keeps this from being completely silly. He is often conflicted-- SmilesCorp is mutating animals, but his mother works there. He has promised Dylan he'll be at her tournament, but he has to save the town from destruction. Even his dealings with the reformed Beefer Vanderkoff show a maturity and gentleness of spirit that would seem wildly out of place amongst all of the slapstick humor if it weren't so endearing.

Readers who can appreciate Stick Dog's humane manipulation of his less-than-intelligence friends or revel in the deeper thematic undercurrents of justice inherent in Captain Underpants will find Sam and his sidekick to be as mouth wateringly awesome as a bag of Maple Syrup and Pickles Funchos. Remember, it's the Partially Hydrogenated Frog Chromosome Extract that makes them extra tasty!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...

Latest Member Reviews

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."
His Hideous Heart
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: I read various poems and short stories written by Edgar Allen Poe as early..."