One Amazing Elephant

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2079 0
One Amazing Elephant
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 14, 2017
ISBN
978-0062455833
Buy This Book
      
A poignant middle grade animal story from talented author Linda Oatman High that will appeal to fans of Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan. In this heartwarming novel, a girl and an elephant face the same devastating loss—and slowly realize that they share the same powerful love.

Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn’t love the circus—and the circus is their life. She’s perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather’s beloved elephant, Queenie Grace.

Then Grandpa Bill dies, and both Lily and Queenie Grace are devastated. When Lily travels to Florida for the funeral, she keeps her distance from the elephant. But the two are mourning the same man—and form a bond born of loss. And when Queenie Grace faces danger, Lily must come up with a plan to help save her friend.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A book for animal-loving middle grade readers
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Lily Rose Pruitt loves her grandparents, Bill and Violet, though she doesn’t see them as much as she would like because they work for a traveling circus. Bill is “Bill the Giant”—he’s 7’ 5” tall—and he’s also the trainer (or mahout) of Queenie Grace, an elephant. Violet is only 4’ 9” tall, so she’s one of the “freaks” at the circus too. Lily’s mom, Trullia, is the “Girl on the Flying Trapeze.” Despite the appeal that having family members involved in the circus might have for most pre-teens, Lily lives a quiet life with her dad in West Virginia. In fact, she's understandably hurt by her mom’s decision to leave her husband and daughter and return to the circus when Lily was just three years old.

Bill the Giant and Queenie Grace love each other, but their bond doesn’t spill over to encompass Lily—she’s terrified of the elephant. However, Lily and Queenie Grace share a common grief when Grandpa Bill dies, and ONE AMAZING ELEPHANT is the story of how they deal with the challenges that come with grieving, learning to trust, navigating transitions, and dealing with loss.

ONE AMAZING ELEPHANT is told through alternating perspectives, and readers get inside the minds of both Lily and Queenie Grace. Using this vehicle, Linda Oatman High does a nice job of quickly establishing the back story for Lily and Queenie Grace so that the present-day action can propel the novel through its twists and turns.

Lily and Queenie Grace go through a lot together in a very short time. ONE AMAZING ELEPHANT has interesting characters (many are circus workers, after all!), and there’s so much going on that you don’t want to stop turning pages. There are bad guys, new friends, healing of old hurts, and a lot to learn, and I like that the book shows that the word “family” should never have a narrow definition.

ONE AMAZING ELEPHANT is interesting, different, and certain to appeal to middle grade readers. My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
Good Points
Expands the definition of family

Certain to appeal for animal-loving middle school readers
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nadya doesn’t trust her magic anymore. Serefin is fighting off...
Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...

Latest Member Reviews

The Okay Witch
 
4.0
"Moth lives in Founder's Bluff on the east coast, and her town has an annual celebration that celebrations the founders,..."
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
5.0
"Danny's family lives in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. The family has struggled financially, with his filmmaker father doing..."
Roll With It
 
5.0
"Ellie and her mother live in Nashville; her father left when she was young and has another family. Ellie loves..."
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
4.0
"Zoe lives in Boston with her mother and stepfather. Her best friend, Trevor, lives next door, but as summer starts,..."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
That's What Friends Do
 
4.0
"Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't..."
Catherine's War
 
5.0
"Catherine is living at the Sèvres Children's Home since both of her parents were taken. It has a progessive school,..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
"CHRISTMAS CHEER FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG talks about everything exciting Christmas has to offer. There's snowflakes, fires, bells, presents, stockings,..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
"LAUGH OUT LOUD HALLOWEEN JOKES is full of cute jokes that are perfect for children aged four and up. The..."
Little Tigers
 
4.0
"After hearing humans and their dogs nearby, Mother Tiger knows it's time for them to find somewhere safer to live...."
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
"Fans of the Explorer Academy series won't want to miss out on this Codebreaking Activity Adventure. Enter into Explorer Academy..."