Big & Little Questions (According to Wren Jo Byrd)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
510 0
Big & Little Questions (According to Wren Jo Byrd)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 21, 2017
ISBN
978-0803736931
Buy This Book
      
It's the start of a new school year and Wren Jo Byrd is worried that everyone will find out her parents separated over the summer. No one knows the truth, not even her best friend, Amber. When even her new teacher refers to her mom as Mrs. Byrd, Wren decides to keep their divorce a total secret. But something else changed over the summer: A new girl named Marianna moved to town and wants to be Amber's next bff. And because of her fib, Wren can't do anything about it. From take-out dinners with Mom to the tiny room she gets at Dad's new place, nothing is the same for Wren anymore. But while Marianna makes everything harder at first, Wren soon learns that Marianna once had to ask many of the same questions—the big ones, as well as the little ones—that Wren is asking now.

Set in Wisconsin, with wonderfully nuanced characters—from the bossy new girl, who acts big but has a secret of her own, to the sporty girl who acts little and shy but who becomes an unexpected friend—this is a book about much more than divorce.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Finding One's Own Path
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
'Big & Little Questions (According to Wren Jo Byrd)' by Julie Bowe follows nine-year-old Wren as she navigates life after her parents' divorce. Having gone away for the summer without telling any of her friends why, she is hesitant to share that her parents have decided to get a divorce. Adding insult to injury is the fact that her supposed best friend, Amber, has made a new best friend, Marianna, and doesn't seem to want to have anything to do with Wren.

Even though Wren is keeping a secret from Amber, her worry about what will happen when they find out the truth trumps any common sense she may have. The divorce is clearly not her fault, but she feels diminished by it, and as though her friends will think less of her, so she keeps it a secret. It doesn't help that nine-year-olds can be extremely fickle, so Amber's sudden fascination in all things Marianna wears on Wren's sensibilities. Wren's mom makes life even harder when she requests that Wren and Marianna walk to the library together (where Wren's mom is the head librarian) every day after school so Wren isn't alone, due to the fact that both of Wren's parents will now be working after school and unable to be with her at home.

At first, Marianna comes across as a spoiled, bratty diva. It is definitely possible for nine-year-olds to encapsulate these qualities; however, Marianna's way of speaking sometimes seemed too old for her age. Despite Wren's mistrust and dislike of Marianna from the get-go due to Amber and Wren's falling out, Wren learns that Marianna has some secrets of her own, and maybe - just maybe - they are more alike than Wren could have thought possible.

In this novel by Julie Bowe, friendships are tested, secrets are kept and revealed, parents are annoying, and life is frustrating. Yet, through it all, the world starts to make more and more sense, and each character's struggle to find their own path results in finding ways to connect with others as well. This is a fast, sweet, and enlightening story that anyone who loves middle grade novels will truly enjoy.
Good Points
As the world starts to make more and more sense, each character's struggle to find their own path results in finding ways to connect with others as well. This is a fast, sweet, and enlightening story that anyone who loves middle grade novels will truly enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."