Pip Bartlett's Guide to Unicorn Training (Pip Bartlett #2)

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
812 0
Pip Bartlett's Guide to Unicorn Training (Pip Bartlett #2)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 28, 2017
ISBN
978-0545709293
Buy This Book
      
Some things Pip and Tomas will find when dealing with unicorns:
SHOW-OFFS
STAMPEDES
MYSTERY
A UNICORN WHO'S AFRAID OF EVERYTHING
Some things Pip and Tomas will not find when dealing with unicorns:
PEACE AND QUIET
Pip Bartlett has a way with magical creatures. But even she's challenged by Regent Maximus, a unicorn who's afraid of everything. With the help of her friend Tomas, Pip has to get Regent Maximus ready for a big unicorn competition-even if Regent Maximus would rather do anything than compete. Making matters worse, someone mysterious is trying to win the competition by cheating-and if Pip and Tomas don't stop the bad things from happening, it's not only Regent Maximus who'll have reason to be afraid."

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Magical and fun
(Updated: February 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
PIP BARTLETT’S GUIDE TO UNICORN TRAINING is the second book in the Pip Bartlett series. After an accident back home Pip has been sent to spend the summer with her Aunt who owns a magical animal clinic. With a new best friend Thomas, and all the magical animals she could possibly read about, Pip has found a great place to fit in. With the Fuzzle incident cleared up Pip and Thomas move on to their next adventure, Unicorn Training! Even with the ability to talk to animals, Pip is going to have her hands full with this one.


What worked for me:

What I love about Maggie’s book so much was that she brings in this element of friendship that is so unique. Pip and Thomas become quick friends and they work really well together. Thomas is always ready for one of Pip’s ideas. And usually, Pip and Thomas have to come up with some quick ideas to save the day!

After learning that Mr. Henshaw has entered his Unicorn Regent Maximus in the Triple Trident competition, Pip takes it upon herself to train Maximus. With Thomas’ help, Pip comes up with creative ways to get Maximus through each round of the tournament. She works hard and she doesn’t give up no matter what obstacles are thrown at her.

What I love about Pip as a character was her drive. She knew she wants to study animals and nobody will stand in her way. Pip knows that no one believes she can talk to the animals but I loved that she never backed down or didn’t believe herself. She’s a strong character and one that I think a lot of kids will enjoy reading about. The fact that a young girl wants to be a researcher is one of my favorite parts. Not everyone gets it but it matters to Pip and she’ll see it through.

I also loved Pip’s family. Aunt Emma and Callie her cousin. They were both such great characters. Callie never understood Pip’s love for all magical creatures, but she helps her when she needs it. Callie was also hilarious. She cracked me up because she reminded me of what I was like when I was a kid. Everything was always so dramatic. Aunt Emma was also another favorite character of mine. She worked hard and she made Pip feel at home and encouraged her love of animals.

What left me wanting more:

For me, some of the drawings were placed in weird spots or distracted from the story. I think if they were included on the same page as the text then it would have flowed a lot more. Sometimes I would have to turn back and read the last sentence to remember where I was. Despite that, though, I loved that the drawings were included and gave you a glimpse of some of the animals they were talking about. Some of them were weird to picture in your mind so I loved that I could flip the page and see what they looked like.

Overall I thought this was such a great follow-up to the first book in the series. Pip and the cast of characters in these books have been so fun to get to know. They are interesting and fun, most of all Pip is a great lead to this story. She smart and feisty, and she works hard. She knows exactly what she wants in life and she’s willing to work her butt off to get there. The easy flow of this story added with Maggie’s amazing art style this is one book that anyone can enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."