The Forgetting Spell

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2694 0
The Forgetting Spell
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
978-0062342096
Buy This Book
      
The Forgetting Spell is beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle’s second book in the unforgettable Wishing Day series, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Ingrid Law.

Most people in Willow Hill think Darya is the prickliest of the Blok sisters. What they don’t realize is that on the inside, Darya is soft and gooey from feeling everything, all the time. When Darya turns thirteen, the goo gets stickier—and as Darya’s Wishing Day approaches, all she wants is to forget the silly tradition ever existed.

Except . . . she can’t. Ten years ago, a wish made by Darya’s mother splintered their family into pieces. Last year, Darya’s sister Natasha wished for their broken mother to return. The past is something you’re supposed to leave behind. Which is why Darya has locked and sealed her most painful memories inside the far corners of her mind, where they can no longer hurt her.

But when some of them begin to leak out, Darya realizes the decision about what to wish for—and what not to wish for—is probably the most important choice of her life.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Second in a Wonderful Series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
THE FORGETTING SPELL by Lauren Myracle is the second in a three-book series focused on the Blok sisters. Natasha, Darya, and Ava are all approaching their magical thirteenth year in each of the three books. Myracle’s WISHING DAY was Natasha’s story, and it was one of my favorite books of 2016. In it Natasha makes the three wishes she is entitled to on her wishing day (the third day of the third month after her thirteenth birthday), and the sweet story of a family dealing with loss through love unfolds from there. You can read more about the book and check out my review of it here: http://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfiction/19797-wishing-day#userReviews.

So. THE FORGETTING SPELL. This book returns readers to the little magical town of Willow Hill, and this time the focus is on the middle Blok sister—Darya—and the challenges she faces after HER thirteenth birthday while managing with the gift and the curse of coming from a mysterious and magical family. It was going to be hard to measure up to WISHING DAY for me… the first book left a lot of questions unanswered, but it also left me in love with the main characters and rooting for them with every turn of the page. Unfortunately, although it’s a book worth reading, THE FORGETTING SPELL didn’t quite hit the rather high mark left by WISHING DAY. My primary problem is that I can’t see THE FORGETTING SPELL standing on its own. That said, if you’ve read WISHING DAY, then you should definitely pick this up to flesh out the story that was started in the first book of the series. Darya was an elusive figure in WISHING DAY—rightly so since the story was Natasha’s story—and Darya has her chance to shine in Myracle’s second visit to Willow Hill. Although the first half of THE FORGETTING SPELL is a bit slow, and Darya isn’t as engaging as I had hoped she would be, the book picks up steam through the second half, and it evolves into a wonderful story of middle school angst, family drama, and magic. I couldn’t put the book down after I hit the half-way point.

The best of the first two books is that Myracle gives Natasha, Darya, and Ava plenty of wisdom, wit, and charm. I was rooting for these three from the start. In THE FORGETTING SPELL the girls’ mother, Klara (whose disappearance was a focal point in the first book), has returned. I really wish Klara’s story had been fleshed out more, and I’d love for her to be a sympathetic character. Unfortunately, I don’t understand her at all, I don’t understand why she did the things she did, and I definitely dislike her… but that makes me all the more eager to see where the third book in the series takes us!

I recommend THE FORGETING SPELL, and I’ll be anxiously awaiting the third book in the Wishing Day series. Ava’s story has the potential to be the best of the three—and that’s saying quite a lot.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for an ARC of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
The continuation of a wonderful story
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

My Skull Possession
 
3.5
"My Skull Possession is a book which seems to be scaring people to death. Brighton wants to find out the..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"After reading Queens of the Fae, I had such mixed feelings about Griffin... but now I love him! This book..."
Just Shelby
 
N/A
"ARCs available for review @XpressoBookTours: http://xpressobooktours.com/2020/09/10/review-opportunity-just-shelby-by-brooklyn-james/?fbclid=IwAR2v9c-b9Z0YagynLTaMCNt-c-WW6nmWYZbuVBZYFoGNADs5c-DD6YayMGU"
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
" The story: Ari and Eva are young members of a society based on the seven deadly sins,..."
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
"Casey L. Bond has been on my reading list for years, and now I can finally say I have read..."
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
"Dark and twisted just like I like them! Of Thorns and Beauty by Elle Madison, Robin D. Mahle is the..."
The Verity
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK Friends. FRIENDS. This book was so good. I apologize in advanced if it’s just a bunch of rambling..."
Emerge: Immortals of Indriell (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Emerge by Melissa A. Craven is the first book in her series Immortals of Indriell and is a fast-paced adventure..."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
5.0
"A cute and fun romp. What’s better than a Hollywood romance between a rising star and..."
Dare: A Bradford Academy Novel
 
5.0
"Really great story line , really great writing and I can’t wait until the next book because I have a..."
Chasing the Sun
 
5.0
"'Chasing the Sun' by Melanie Hooyenga captures the raw emotions felt after a breakup, as well as the ones that..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."