The Forgetting Spell

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2593 0
The Forgetting Spell
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
978-0062342096
Buy This Book
      
The Forgetting Spell is beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle’s second book in the unforgettable Wishing Day series, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Ingrid Law.

Most people in Willow Hill think Darya is the prickliest of the Blok sisters. What they don’t realize is that on the inside, Darya is soft and gooey from feeling everything, all the time. When Darya turns thirteen, the goo gets stickier—and as Darya’s Wishing Day approaches, all she wants is to forget the silly tradition ever existed.

Except . . . she can’t. Ten years ago, a wish made by Darya’s mother splintered their family into pieces. Last year, Darya’s sister Natasha wished for their broken mother to return. The past is something you’re supposed to leave behind. Which is why Darya has locked and sealed her most painful memories inside the far corners of her mind, where they can no longer hurt her.

But when some of them begin to leak out, Darya realizes the decision about what to wish for—and what not to wish for—is probably the most important choice of her life.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Second in a Wonderful Series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
THE FORGETTING SPELL by Lauren Myracle is the second in a three-book series focused on the Blok sisters. Natasha, Darya, and Ava are all approaching their magical thirteenth year in each of the three books. Myracle’s WISHING DAY was Natasha’s story, and it was one of my favorite books of 2016. In it Natasha makes the three wishes she is entitled to on her wishing day (the third day of the third month after her thirteenth birthday), and the sweet story of a family dealing with loss through love unfolds from there. You can read more about the book and check out my review of it here: http://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfiction/19797-wishing-day#userReviews.

So. THE FORGETTING SPELL. This book returns readers to the little magical town of Willow Hill, and this time the focus is on the middle Blok sister—Darya—and the challenges she faces after HER thirteenth birthday while managing with the gift and the curse of coming from a mysterious and magical family. It was going to be hard to measure up to WISHING DAY for me… the first book left a lot of questions unanswered, but it also left me in love with the main characters and rooting for them with every turn of the page. Unfortunately, although it’s a book worth reading, THE FORGETTING SPELL didn’t quite hit the rather high mark left by WISHING DAY. My primary problem is that I can’t see THE FORGETTING SPELL standing on its own. That said, if you’ve read WISHING DAY, then you should definitely pick this up to flesh out the story that was started in the first book of the series. Darya was an elusive figure in WISHING DAY—rightly so since the story was Natasha’s story—and Darya has her chance to shine in Myracle’s second visit to Willow Hill. Although the first half of THE FORGETTING SPELL is a bit slow, and Darya isn’t as engaging as I had hoped she would be, the book picks up steam through the second half, and it evolves into a wonderful story of middle school angst, family drama, and magic. I couldn’t put the book down after I hit the half-way point.

The best of the first two books is that Myracle gives Natasha, Darya, and Ava plenty of wisdom, wit, and charm. I was rooting for these three from the start. In THE FORGETTING SPELL the girls’ mother, Klara (whose disappearance was a focal point in the first book), has returned. I really wish Klara’s story had been fleshed out more, and I’d love for her to be a sympathetic character. Unfortunately, I don’t understand her at all, I don’t understand why she did the things she did, and I definitely dislike her… but that makes me all the more eager to see where the third book in the series takes us!

I recommend THE FORGETING SPELL, and I’ll be anxiously awaiting the third book in the Wishing Day series. Ava’s story has the potential to be the best of the three—and that’s saying quite a lot.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for an ARC of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
The continuation of a wonderful story
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Anger, hurt, and rejection threaten Joshua’s ability to save the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bernita, a teenager from a prominent South American family, knows...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How do you fix a computer glitch that disappears before...
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary exploration of physics, light, and sound told through...
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mummies, pyramids, pharaohs, King Tut! Kids everywhere are fascinated by...
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends. ...
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The first new book about Poppy in more than ten...
Burn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst...
The Right Place
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A squirrel wakes from hibernation feeling something is wrong with...

Latest Member Reviews

Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."
Like Sisters on the Homefront
 
4.7
"Top 3 reasons to read LIKE SISTERS ON THE HOMEFRONT: 1.) The characters- Gayle, a NYC girl sent to..."
Daphne and Velma: The Vanishing Girl
 
3.7
"Daphne Blake and Velma Dinkley are opposites. Daphne is popular, traditionally pretty, and sociable. Velma prefers books and information to..."
Felix Ever After
 
5.0
"Felix has never been in love, but he wants to be. He wants the experience of opening your heart, having..."
The Sullivan Sisters
 
5.0
"Eileen, Claire, and Murphy Sullivan used to be close. They had their special traditions, their shared laughs, and their shared..."
The Summer of Impossibilities
 
3.7
"THE SUMMER OF IMPOSSIBILITIES is a YA contemporary about friendship in the vein of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS...."
Tarnished Are the Stars
 
4.3
"FEEDBACK I actually really enjoyed this story. The beginning was a little confusing because there wasn’t too much explanation of..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"San Solano, Texas is not only known for its Southern charm but also gruesome murders that took place fifty..."
Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy, #1)
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK When I first heard about this book I thought it was interesting. Then I saw all the hype..."