The Forgetting Spell

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2077 0
The Forgetting Spell
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN
978-0062342096
Buy This Book
      
The Forgetting Spell is beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle’s second book in the unforgettable Wishing Day series, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Ingrid Law.

Most people in Willow Hill think Darya is the prickliest of the Blok sisters. What they don’t realize is that on the inside, Darya is soft and gooey from feeling everything, all the time. When Darya turns thirteen, the goo gets stickier—and as Darya’s Wishing Day approaches, all she wants is to forget the silly tradition ever existed.

Except . . . she can’t. Ten years ago, a wish made by Darya’s mother splintered their family into pieces. Last year, Darya’s sister Natasha wished for their broken mother to return. The past is something you’re supposed to leave behind. Which is why Darya has locked and sealed her most painful memories inside the far corners of her mind, where they can no longer hurt her.

But when some of them begin to leak out, Darya realizes the decision about what to wish for—and what not to wish for—is probably the most important choice of her life.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Second in a Wonderful Series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
THE FORGETTING SPELL by Lauren Myracle is the second in a three-book series focused on the Blok sisters. Natasha, Darya, and Ava are all approaching their magical thirteenth year in each of the three books. Myracle’s WISHING DAY was Natasha’s story, and it was one of my favorite books of 2016. In it Natasha makes the three wishes she is entitled to on her wishing day (the third day of the third month after her thirteenth birthday), and the sweet story of a family dealing with loss through love unfolds from there. You can read more about the book and check out my review of it here: http://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfiction/19797-wishing-day#userReviews.

So. THE FORGETTING SPELL. This book returns readers to the little magical town of Willow Hill, and this time the focus is on the middle Blok sister—Darya—and the challenges she faces after HER thirteenth birthday while managing with the gift and the curse of coming from a mysterious and magical family. It was going to be hard to measure up to WISHING DAY for me… the first book left a lot of questions unanswered, but it also left me in love with the main characters and rooting for them with every turn of the page. Unfortunately, although it’s a book worth reading, THE FORGETTING SPELL didn’t quite hit the rather high mark left by WISHING DAY. My primary problem is that I can’t see THE FORGETTING SPELL standing on its own. That said, if you’ve read WISHING DAY, then you should definitely pick this up to flesh out the story that was started in the first book of the series. Darya was an elusive figure in WISHING DAY—rightly so since the story was Natasha’s story—and Darya has her chance to shine in Myracle’s second visit to Willow Hill. Although the first half of THE FORGETTING SPELL is a bit slow, and Darya isn’t as engaging as I had hoped she would be, the book picks up steam through the second half, and it evolves into a wonderful story of middle school angst, family drama, and magic. I couldn’t put the book down after I hit the half-way point.

The best of the first two books is that Myracle gives Natasha, Darya, and Ava plenty of wisdom, wit, and charm. I was rooting for these three from the start. In THE FORGETTING SPELL the girls’ mother, Klara (whose disappearance was a focal point in the first book), has returned. I really wish Klara’s story had been fleshed out more, and I’d love for her to be a sympathetic character. Unfortunately, I don’t understand her at all, I don’t understand why she did the things she did, and I definitely dislike her… but that makes me all the more eager to see where the third book in the series takes us!

I recommend THE FORGETING SPELL, and I’ll be anxiously awaiting the third book in the Wishing Day series. Ava’s story has the potential to be the best of the three—and that’s saying quite a lot.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for an ARC of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
The continuation of a wonderful story
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Based on the Disney Junior TV show and inspired by...
Rules for Vanishing
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project comes...
What Makes Us
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving...
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ever wanted to fold your own Chocolate Frogs? Or play...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon will...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Could you fall in love with a robot? ...
IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...

Latest Member Reviews

Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
"When Dad tells Nancy stories about when he and Mom used to go camping, Nancy knows it's something she has..."
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."
Good Night, Santa: A Magical Christmas Story
 
5.0
"GOOD NIGHT, SANTA is a simple but elegant book that celebrates the Christmas season, perfect for bedtime. The illustrations are..."
Jolly Jingly Christmas: The Best Christmas Book Ever!
 
5.0
"JOLLY JINGLY CHRISTMAS is a cute rhyming, lift-the-flap, musical, non-religious celebration of the season. Each of the five full page..."
Dear Sweet Pea
 
4.0
"Sweet Pea is in her last year of primary school (K-7th grade) and will be starting at secondary school the..."
I Can Make This Promise
 
5.0
"I CAN MAKE THIS PROMISE is a moving middle grade contemporary fiction about trusting your parents, finding your heritage, and..."
Peppa Pig Festival of Mud
 
4.5
"What I Loved: The story is based off an episode of Peppa Pig, and definitely reads like one. It..."
Everybody Says Meow
 
N/A
"What I Loved: This is one of those books that you can't help but smile while you read, even..."
The Other, Better Me
 
4.0
"THE OTHER, BETTER ME is a contemporary middle grade novel that follows a ten-year-old, Lola, as she explores herself and..."
Goldilocks For Dinner
 
5.0
"What I loved: The illustrations in this book are unique and eye catching, engaging the children from the outset. The..."
Ember and the Ice Dragons
 
4.0
"EMBER AND THE ICE DRAGONS is a lush middle grade historical fantasy that follows Ember, a dragon who was transformed..."
Douglas
 
3.5
"DOUGLAS is the story of a mouse who lives at the theater. She often likes to eat the snacks dropped..."
Wild Honey from the Moon
 
5.0
"WILD HONEY FROM THE MOON is a story of boundless love and a mother's quest. Mother Shrew is worried about..."
The Halloween Tree
 
5.0
"Be prepared to start a new holiday tradition with THE HALLOWEEN TREE. On the Christmas tree lot, there is one..."
Wake Up, Farm! (Pop-Up Peekaboo)
 
5.0
"WAKE UP, FARM! is a delightful pop-up, lift-the-flap book that brings the farm to young readers. Beginning with Rooster who..."
Isle of You
 
5.0
"ISLE OF YOU is a beautiful picture book that contains words of encouragement and coping mechanisms for dealing with difficult..."
Dasher: How a Brave Little Doe Changed Christmas Forever
 
5.0
"DASHER is a beautiful and elegant Christmas story that introduces the reindeer before Rudolph. Dasher lives with her family in..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
The Best At It
 
5.0
"Rahul lives in Indiana with his parents, younger brother Arun, and grandfather, whom he calls Bhai. He has a best..."