Samson: The Piranha Who Went to Dinner

 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1029 0
Samson: The Piranha Who Went to Dinner
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 07, 2017
ISBN
978-0062335371
Buy This Book
      
A charming and funny story of friendship, fine dining, and being true to yourself, from Tadgh Bentley, the author/illustrator of Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups—perfect for fans of Love Monster and I Don’t Want to Be a Frog!

Samson wasn’t like other piranhas.
While other piranhas stayed close to home
He wanted to explore the world.
And while they stuck to the same old routine, swimming and chomping and scaring,
Samson liked to try new things
Most of all, Samson dreamed of eating fine foods at fancy restaurants.

So when not one but THREE new restaurants come to his corner of the sea, Samson can’t wait to try them all. There’s only one problem: With their big teeth and scary smiles, piranhas aren’t really welcome anywhere, let alone in fancy restaurants. Can Samson make his dream come true—and still be himself?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Great Read with a Message
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
I always love a good book that teaches my child a lesson and SAMSON, THE PIRANHA WHO WENT TO DINNER is one of them.

Sampson is a piranha who, unlike the other piranhas, wants to eat at a fancy restaurant. The other piranhas think he's strange for wanting to do things out of their norm, but that doesn't deter Sampson. Instead, he stays true to who he is. But since other fish are scared of piranhas and their big teeth, Sampson must wear a disguise.

But when Sampson's disguise fails again and again, he realizes that he isn't the only fearsome fish with big teeth who wants to dine at a restaurant. There are others like him wearing disguises and for once, he isn't alone. The big teethed fish band together to open their own restaurant where their kind will always be welcome.


Final Verdict: I loved this story and how it teaches children that you should always be yourself no matter what others think or say. I also loved that even though Sampson is a piranha, his character isn't scary. The inside flap said it's for ages 4-8, but I think even 2 or 3 year olds will enjoy this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Beautiful message
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
SAMSON THE PIRANHA WHO WENT TO DINNER was such a fun story about staying true to yourself and knowing who you are. Samson isn’t like other Piranhas. While they stay home and scare others, Samson wants to explore and try new things. Samson hears about new restaurants opening near him that he wants to try, but because of being a piranha he isn’t welcome anywhere.

What I loved was that the whole message was if you stay true to who you are then you will find people who enjoy your company. Samson just wants adventure and in the end, he finds a group who want the same thing. I loved that the story ends on such a positive note and is filled with such amazing illustrations that does not leave any tiny detail out.

Overall I absolutely loved this book. It was a beautifully illustrated book with an amazing message. One that parents will love reading to their child. I enjoyed reading it to my nephew who got such a kick out of the disguises that Samson uses. I really recommend this book. I can’t tell you how good it was.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Full Disclosure
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a community that isn't always understanding, an HIV-positive teen...
Resurrection Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Foster hasn’t felt alive since her little brother drowned...
Orpheus Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her debut novel, award-winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the...
Riot Baby
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rooted in foundational loss and the hope that can live...
The Haunting of Henry Davis
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two kids are about to find out that their lives...
A Kingdom for a Stage (For a Muse of Fire #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jetta is a prisoner. A prisoner of the armee, a...
Foul is Fair
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elle and her friends Mads, Jenny, and Summer rule their...
Girls of Storm and Shadow (Girls of Paper and Fire #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this mesmerizing sequel to the New York Times bestselling...
Springback
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just because someone can rewind time...doesn't always mean they should....
Myth Management
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For hundreds of years, the British bureaucracy of Myth Management...
Jeremiah Jericho: Allowance (book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jeremiah just turned 16 and found out that he inherited...
Twisted Pines
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where have all the children gone? At rustic summer camp...
Sorcery of Thorns
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long...
The Babysitters Coven
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in...
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is the first of three young adult novels from...
Who Put This Song On?
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Trapped in sunny, stifling, small-town suburbia, seventeen-year-old Morgan knows why...

Latest Member Reviews

Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"