Samson: The Piranha Who Went to Dinner

 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1005 0
Samson: The Piranha Who Went to Dinner
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 07, 2017
ISBN
978-0062335371
Buy This Book
      
A charming and funny story of friendship, fine dining, and being true to yourself, from Tadgh Bentley, the author/illustrator of Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups—perfect for fans of Love Monster and I Don’t Want to Be a Frog!

Samson wasn’t like other piranhas.
While other piranhas stayed close to home
He wanted to explore the world.
And while they stuck to the same old routine, swimming and chomping and scaring,
Samson liked to try new things
Most of all, Samson dreamed of eating fine foods at fancy restaurants.

So when not one but THREE new restaurants come to his corner of the sea, Samson can’t wait to try them all. There’s only one problem: With their big teeth and scary smiles, piranhas aren’t really welcome anywhere, let alone in fancy restaurants. Can Samson make his dream come true—and still be himself?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Great Read with a Message
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
I always love a good book that teaches my child a lesson and SAMSON, THE PIRANHA WHO WENT TO DINNER is one of them.

Sampson is a piranha who, unlike the other piranhas, wants to eat at a fancy restaurant. The other piranhas think he's strange for wanting to do things out of their norm, but that doesn't deter Sampson. Instead, he stays true to who he is. But since other fish are scared of piranhas and their big teeth, Sampson must wear a disguise.

But when Sampson's disguise fails again and again, he realizes that he isn't the only fearsome fish with big teeth who wants to dine at a restaurant. There are others like him wearing disguises and for once, he isn't alone. The big teethed fish band together to open their own restaurant where their kind will always be welcome.


Final Verdict: I loved this story and how it teaches children that you should always be yourself no matter what others think or say. I also loved that even though Sampson is a piranha, his character isn't scary. The inside flap said it's for ages 4-8, but I think even 2 or 3 year olds will enjoy this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Beautiful message
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
SAMSON THE PIRANHA WHO WENT TO DINNER was such a fun story about staying true to yourself and knowing who you are. Samson isn’t like other Piranhas. While they stay home and scare others, Samson wants to explore and try new things. Samson hears about new restaurants opening near him that he wants to try, but because of being a piranha he isn’t welcome anywhere.

What I loved was that the whole message was if you stay true to who you are then you will find people who enjoy your company. Samson just wants adventure and in the end, he finds a group who want the same thing. I loved that the story ends on such a positive note and is filled with such amazing illustrations that does not leave any tiny detail out.

Overall I absolutely loved this book. It was a beautifully illustrated book with an amazing message. One that parents will love reading to their child. I enjoyed reading it to my nephew who got such a kick out of the disguises that Samson uses. I really recommend this book. I can’t tell you how good it was.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...

Latest Member Reviews

On the Come Up
 
5.0
"ON THE COME UP is a fantastic new YA contemporary that handles big issues like racism and sexism. The characters..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."
Glow of the Fireflies
 
3.3
"GLOW OF THE FIREFLIES is a YA fantasy that follows a teenaged girl, Briony, who has no memories from before..."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
 
4.7
"Sam Jones and Zoe Miller are seniors in high school, but they've never had a reason to communicate during their..."