Samson: The Piranha Who Went to Dinner

 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1369 0
Samson: The Piranha Who Went to Dinner
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 07, 2017
ISBN
978-0062335371
Buy This Book
      
A charming and funny story of friendship, fine dining, and being true to yourself, from Tadgh Bentley, the author/illustrator of Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups—perfect for fans of Love Monster and I Don’t Want to Be a Frog!

Samson wasn’t like other piranhas.
While other piranhas stayed close to home
He wanted to explore the world.
And while they stuck to the same old routine, swimming and chomping and scaring,
Samson liked to try new things
Most of all, Samson dreamed of eating fine foods at fancy restaurants.

So when not one but THREE new restaurants come to his corner of the sea, Samson can’t wait to try them all. There’s only one problem: With their big teeth and scary smiles, piranhas aren’t really welcome anywhere, let alone in fancy restaurants. Can Samson make his dream come true—and still be himself?

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Great Read with a Message
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
I always love a good book that teaches my child a lesson and SAMSON, THE PIRANHA WHO WENT TO DINNER is one of them.

Sampson is a piranha who, unlike the other piranhas, wants to eat at a fancy restaurant. The other piranhas think he's strange for wanting to do things out of their norm, but that doesn't deter Sampson. Instead, he stays true to who he is. But since other fish are scared of piranhas and their big teeth, Sampson must wear a disguise.

But when Sampson's disguise fails again and again, he realizes that he isn't the only fearsome fish with big teeth who wants to dine at a restaurant. There are others like him wearing disguises and for once, he isn't alone. The big teethed fish band together to open their own restaurant where their kind will always be welcome.


Final Verdict: I loved this story and how it teaches children that you should always be yourself no matter what others think or say. I also loved that even though Sampson is a piranha, his character isn't scary. The inside flap said it's for ages 4-8, but I think even 2 or 3 year olds will enjoy this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Beautiful message
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
SAMSON THE PIRANHA WHO WENT TO DINNER was such a fun story about staying true to yourself and knowing who you are. Samson isn’t like other Piranhas. While they stay home and scare others, Samson wants to explore and try new things. Samson hears about new restaurants opening near him that he wants to try, but because of being a piranha he isn’t welcome anywhere.

What I loved was that the whole message was if you stay true to who you are then you will find people who enjoy your company. Samson just wants adventure and in the end, he finds a group who want the same thing. I loved that the story ends on such a positive note and is filled with such amazing illustrations that does not leave any tiny detail out.

Overall I absolutely loved this book. It was a beautifully illustrated book with an amazing message. One that parents will love reading to their child. I enjoyed reading it to my nephew who got such a kick out of the disguises that Samson uses. I really recommend this book. I can’t tell you how good it was.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account