Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)

4.5 (2)
0.0 (0)
4257 0
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
Age Range
Release Date
November 19, 2016
Buy This Book
That's the way the cookie crumbles!

Yum! Our magic mirror has dropped me and my brother, Jonah, into the story of Hansel and Gretel. If we're lucky, we may even get to taste the cake-house...

But we didn't count on accidentally getting trapped. The real Hansel and Gretel are on the run, and Jonah and I have taken their place. And the witch is making a kid casserole for dinner...

Now we have to:
- Avoid being eaten
- Pretend our dog is a cat
- Learn to make kale smoothies
- Befriend a talking duck

Or we may never make it back to our home sweet home!

Editor reviews

2 reviews
Takes you into the world of Hansel and Gretel
Overall rating
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it takes them into the story of Hansel and Gretel. They run into them in the woods and are shocked to see that they look almost identical to Abby and Jonah.

When Hansel and Gretel take Abby and Jonah's portal home, Abby and Jonah are forced to play out the story. They're captured by the witch, but do things a little differently than the original way. All the while, they're scared what Hansel and Gretel are doing back in their world.

I love how SUGAR AND SPICE takes you into the classic story of Hansel and Gretel but changes it up a bit. I also really liked how Jonah and Abby learn the lesson that they should be happy for what they have. Hansel and Gretel were poor and Abby and Jonah realizes how good they have it. They know better that to take things for granted again, especially their parents.

Final Verdict: This is another exciting addition to the Whatever After series. It's perfect for fans of Hansel and Gretel, fairytale retellings, and magic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
A Sweet Fairy Tale Treat
Overall rating
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
Abby is having a bad day-- she and her brother Jonah break a lamp playing duckball in the house, they have to eat asparagus at dinner, and there's no dessert because Abby has had a note sent home about her being disruptive in class. Going through the magic mirror sounds like a great way to get away from her problems, but when she and Jonah get through, they find that they are trapped in the story of Hansel and Gretel, in a land called Vegetopia. And evil witch owns all of the vegetable gardens, which are guarded closely by birds. Time is going more quickly in the fairy tale world than in their own world, and things are not working out. When they find a witch's gingerbread cottage with Hansel and Gretel, they know what might happen, and Hansel and Gretel go through the portal, leaving Abby and Jonah stranded. Abby convinces the witch that Jonah won't make a good stew because he's eaten too much junk food, and buys herself a little time. Eventually, the two manage to get back through the portal, only to discover that Hansel and Gretel have been impersonating them in order to take advantage of the much better way of life that Abby and Jonah have.
Good Points
This is the most moralistic tale in this series-- Abby and Jonah quickly realize how good their lives are compared to Hansel and Gretel, who have (after all) been abandoned in the woods by their father and step mother. They gain a greater appreciation for their parents' rules and consequences, and even the kale smoothies their mother makes, after seeing how hard Hansel and Gretel's lives are.

The story of the witch also has a funny twist about vegetables-- the witch is selling them at a very high cost that most of the people in Vegetopia can't afford, which makes all of the children appreciate them a little more. Of course, the candy on the gingerbread house is still very tasty-- what child hasn't imagined being stuck in this particular fairy tale so that he could eat all of the candy AND outwit the witch?

While Prince the dog and Maryrose the fairy don't have as big a role in this volume, Abby and Jonah certainly develop a little more as characters, and it's interesting for them to be shown learning something new about themselves. Readers of fractured fairy tales like E.D.Baker's or Daisy Meadows' titles will gobble up this latest installment of Whatever After. The next volume in this series is to be Abby in Wonderland a super special due out in September of 2017.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account