Winter Wonders (Cupcake Cousins #3)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1126 0
Winter Wonders (Cupcake Cousins #3)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
9781484716632
Buy This Book
      
Cat and Mr. Henry have set the date for their wedding-Christmas Day! Cousins Willow and Delia are excited to be junior bridesmaids at last, but when a record-breaking Christmas Eve blizzard leaves the whole town stranded, the girls have more to worry about than their wedding duties!

The guests are late, and the roof has collapsed over the town's food pantry, leaving many without a holiday meal. Will Delia and Willow be able to help the town's hungry while giving Cat and Mr. Henry the wedding they've dreamed of?

Test tasty recipes included throughout as the whole Bumpus family celebrates the true meaning of the holiday season in the final book in the Cupcake Cousins series.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Recipe for a great winter break.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
After their adventures in Cupcake Cousins and Summer Showers, cousins Willow and Delia are back with their family in Michigan, this time preparing for the wedding of Cat and Mr. Rickles. It's Christmas vacation, and they are glad to be back together, but the two are struggling to decide what they should do for Cat as a wedding present. Willow is still smarting from some baking attempts that went awry and caused students at her school to make fun of her, so she is longing to stay permanently in Whispering Pines with her extended family. The triplets (June, July and August) require a lot of care, and the girls help out with them. Cat has asked them to help her with the baking for her wedding day, but they can't seem to keep enough items in the kitchen, since they seem to disappear over night. There is also a homeless shelter event the day before the wedding, and everyone is stressed and trying to figure out how to make that work. Eventually, the girls get their baking done, get ready to be flower girls, and manage to involve the whole community in their various preparations.
Good Points
This is a fine ending for an upbeat series about an extended family and friends in a small community. While the relatives usually serve as background for the antics of Delia and Willow, it's great to see involved, funny grandparents, harried aunts, and parents who are more than a little distracted by everything that's going on, but who really want to support their children. Even the little brother, Sweet William, and the baby cousins add a feeling of togetherness and family that many readers crave. (Think about how appealing The Brady Bunch was to those of us who weren't from large families!)

I especially appreciated the fact that Willow's father says they will NOT be moving away from their home near Chicago, and that Willow is going to have to face her disappointments and deal with her friends. That is much more realistic than the family relocating, which I thought might happen!

Willow and Delia are allowed a lot of responsibility, which is great. While I don't know many ten year olds who cook as much as they do, they are always portrayed as fairly responsible, although they do make age appropriate mistakes. Things don't always go well, but the girls are wonderful at assessing the situation, asking for help, and trying their best to make things go right. This message about perseverance in the face of obstacles is one that many girls can use.

Of course, the recipes are a fun addition, even if readers don't make cocoa or miracle waffles. Readers who enjoy Simon's Cupcake Diaries, Papademetriou's Confectionately Yours books and have moved beyond Hiranandani's Phoebe G. Green series will gladly gobble down this new recipe for winter fun.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
July 20, 1969. It’s a day that has earned a...
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Thurgood Marshall—the great grandson of a slave—was born, African...
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There’s lots of fun to be had up on the...
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This endearing story of identification and values shows the rewards...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Book three in a hilarious new series featuring one boy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything starts with a question, like this one: Why do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Worries, fears, and anxieties are all dragons that sneak up...
The Copycat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, unpredictable, and heartfelt new novel from Wendy McLeod...
DC Super Hero Girls: Powerless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The DC Super Hero Girls learn what it's like to...

Latest Member Reviews

Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
"DOUBLE TROUBLE! features twins, Ellis and Erin, who are looking for trouble. They search all over the house, in the..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
"Nina is nine years old, and struggling with several things. Her father has to spend his week working away from..."
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
"After Nina Soni, Former Best Friend, Nina is back, and this time is concerned that her little sister is a..."
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker and their father Charles are getting settled into Watch Hollow after their harrowing introduction to it..."