Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears

Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
1+
Release Date
January 03, 2017
ISBN
978-0062451774
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be My Friend, this is a classic and quirky story of finding friendship where you least expect it, from the author/illustrator of The Blobfish Book and Shark Detective.

Karl and Hazel are polar bears. They are not friends.

Until . . . CRAAACCKKK!

Of all the polar bears, Karl is stuck with one who doesn’t like to talk.

Of all the polar bears, Hazel is stuck with the one who talks too much.

And now they’re drifting out to sea together. . . .

Also includes fun facts and resources about polar bears and the Arctic.

Editor review

1 review
A Simple (but Fun) Book with a Great Message
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Karl and Hazel are polar bears, and they are definitely not friends. In fact, they annoy each other. Karl thinks Hazel is mean because she’s quiet and keeps to herself, and Hazel thinks Karl is too loud and smelly. Then they’re stuck on an ice floe together with no one else in sight.

Karl and Hazel spend time trying to keep to themselves, but soon they realize that life is better in their little space if they talk, play games, and cooperate. Soon they are friends.

ADRIFT: AN ODD COUPLE OF POLAR BEARS is a fun and funny story of acceptance. It celebrates the differences between people (or rather, polar bears), and it shows that what can annoy you one moment can quickly become something you enjoy when circumstances change.

The illustrations in ADRIFT are basic, but full of life. Despite the simple drawings, children will be able to read the expressions on Karl and Hazel’s faces, and each page has something on which to linger. The narrative, too, is simple, but that helps the story move and it ensures a parent’s willingness to read the book as many times as it’s requested!

Olien closes the book with information on polar bears, their habitat, and what people can do to be supportive of both.

ADRIFT is a great book that will engage toddlers and young elementary as well as adults. I definitely recommend it.
Good Points
Simple but engaging illustrations

Easy-to-read but fun text
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account