Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue

 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1113 0
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 21, 2017
ISBN
978-0062366184
Buy This Book
      
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this lyrical, heartwarming story by Calista Brill, brought to life by Tad Carpenter’s bright and lively illustrations. Perfect for readers who can’t get enough of things that GO!

Bill is a tugboat. Mabel is a barge. Together they go up and down the choppy river.

The other ships are big and vain. They tease Bill and Mabel. But when a kitten falls in the water, it’s up to Bill and Mabel to save the day!

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Teaches About Bullying
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
TUGBOAT BILL teaches about the topic of bullying and how you can be great no matter what others say.

Tugboat Bill works with his friend Mable who is an old barge. She's rusty, old, and leaks, but that doesn't mean she's useless. Instead, she's as hard of a worker as Bill, but the other ships don't see it that way. They call Mable names and she pretends to look the other way, but it still affects her and hurts her feelings under the surface. They think they're better because they're newer.

When a cat falls into the river, Mable is the one to save the day since all the new ships don't want to bother with a wet cat. Once Mable's recognized by the public for her heroic deed, the nice ship desire to be in her shoes instead. It goes to show how quickly people's opinions change and how words still hurt. No matter what people tell you, this story shows that you can still be great and become a hero even.


Final Verdict: This would be a good read to introduce bullying to your child. This is an issue that should be addressed at a young age and Tugboat Bill helps teaches us the importance of being nice to others. Overall, it was a good story with well-illustrated pictures.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Friendship at its best
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Tugboat Bill was a great story about Bill and his friend Mabel. Bill is a tugboat who works very hard and Mabel is barge who is loyal and brave. It’s a great story about friendship, and bullying. Bill and Mabel get picked on by the bigger, “better” looking boats in the Hudson.

What I loved about this story is the way they approached bullying. Mabel gets called names and is hurt by this. You see her ignore the taunts but that it still takes a toll on her. I love that the author shows that sometimes it’s hard to ignore the mean names that you are called. But just because someone thinks something about you, if you stay true to who you are, bullies can never hurt you.

Everything worked really well with this book. The illustrations to the flow of the writing, this book deals with a tough subject in a really beautiful way. Making this a great story for kids who have been a bully or who deal with bullying. I absolutely loved this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
"HEARTBREAKERS AND FAKERS is a consuming YA contemporary romance that I absolutely devoured. Penny wakes up on the lawn after..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD ZULU..."