Macarons at Midnight

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1359 0
Macarons at Midnight
Age Range
9+
Release Date
June 28, 2016
ISBN
978-0545884259
Buy This Book
      
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test, she meets a supercute boy. He's as sweet as the macarons they share, and Lise is totally smitten. She's pretty sure he is, too -- but they never get a chance to exchange names. Now Lise has to find him again....

When Lise finally discovers who her mystery guy is, he's not at all what she expected -- and suddenly they don't get along anymore! Things become even more complicated when her friend Viv starts to express interest in him. Now Lise's head and heart are all in a jumble. Can she gather the courage to admit her true feelings ... or is this a recipe for total disaster?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

a novel as sweet as the macarons on the cover
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Loved:
The book’s inciting incident is Elise meeting her Romeo at a sweets shop, so of course the book is going to be deliciously adorable and sweet enough to make your dentist advise against reading it. Even when Rajeev is being a royal jerk as the editor in chief of the middle school newspaper, his sweet side shows through any time his macaron Juliet comes up in conversation. His dad puts a lot of pressure on him not to pursue the arts despite Rejeev’s love of drawing, so his attitude is understandable too. Cultural pressures, man.

Can you tell I’m happy when books for kids present boys of color as romantic leads without exoticizing them? BECAUSE I AM.

In addition to bumbling around and recruiting her new friend to help her figure out whether Artist Rajeev or Newspaper Rajeev is the real Rajeev, Elise slowly grows closer to her new stepsister too. The girls initially hate each other in a very Cinderella-esque way, but the two slowly bond as sisters and as friends. In 2017, I’m going to take more time to praise positive female friendships/relationships in the books I read and this is a good place to start. Though they talk about Elise’s boy trouble a bit, it’s more about them adjusting to one another as sisters and getting ready for a new baby half-sibling to arrive.

Above all, I want to know where exactly Elise’s school is because their school newspaper is taken very seriously and is a bit of a Big Deal. It’s even printed weekly! My middle school had no newspaper whatsoever and the high school paper I worked on was super low energy. We never had more than ten people on staff and put out an issue maybe every 2-4 weeks? Depended on whether we were doing a print edition or online edition. We were never rushed and never worried about layouts. We didn’t even have student reporters on specific beats, let alone placed on a food beat like Elise!

What Left Me Wanting:
The surprising importance of Elise’s middle school newspaper may be your first indication that believability is stretched a bit. Another instance where reality is stretched to fit the story: Elise and Rajeev are allowed to wander off entirely on their own during a field trip for a talk. We weren’t allowed to split on our own with or without telling someone in high school, let alone in middle school. A single exception for a sophomore year Spanish class is a bit too complicated for me to go into, but it involved Epcot and a big project and nearly ended my longest-lasting friendship.

Kyan, one of Elise’s new friends, really put a damper on things as well. His behavior and some of the things he says about the girl he likes remind me too much of the archetype Nice Guy and I began to dread his arrival in a scene. Even when he’s acting like a genuinely kind kid, the stench of Nice Guy stuck around.

Final Verdict:
Honestly, I think Macarons at Midnight might have been more believable if it were a YA novel instead of MG. Regardless, it’s a novel as sweet as the macarons on the cover and a story I’ll be happy to revisit in the future. Now here’s hoping I can get back into my reviewing groove soon so they aren’t as poorly written as this.
Good Points
*Indian love interest
*very sweet read
*great growth in Lise's relationship with her stepsister
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."