Heroes of Pearl Harbor (10 True Tales)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1352 0
Heroes of Pearl Harbor (10 True Tales)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 25, 2016
ISBN
9780545872768
Buy This Book
      
A massive bomb explosion destroys the battleship USS Arizona and pitches Cassin Young, captain of the nearby USS Vestal, overboard into a flaming oil slick. The dazed commander must find a way back to his ship and save her before she sinks too.

Julio DeCastro and Joe Bulgo can hear sailors trapped inside the capsized USS Oklahoma, which is rapidly filling with water. After toiling all day and all night with their pneumatic hammers, can the exhausted workers cut through the steel hull and save their comrades in time?

Despite suffering serious wounds, Chief Petty Officer John Finn continues to stand out in the open, firing his machine gun at a swarm of Japanese fighter planes while yelling to his fellow sailors, "No one attacks America and gets away with it!"

These and other real-life heroes risked their lives during the surprise attack on Pearl Harbor, which forced America into World War II. You will never forget their courageous true stories.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Sure Hit with WWII Buffs
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Zullo starts out his book with a very helpful explanation of both how the information was gathered for the book and the process he used to write the tales. Like many of his other titles (Vietnam War Heroes, Hurrican Katrina, Young Civil Rights Heroes), Zullo uses a variety of primary and secondary sources to gather information, and then writes interesting accounts by inserting dialogue, which may include epithets and language used at the time. This makes his books read like some older nonfiction titles, which is not a bad thing. Some modern narrative nonfiction gets bogged down in proving itself, but once Zullo has explained his process, we are free to immerse ourselves in the stories of the event.

I especially appreciated the map at the beginning of the book-- although I have read many books about the attacks on Pearl Harbor, I didn't quite realize the number of ships that were anchored there. Being able to visualize where the ships were helps, especially since Zullo has picked out stories from a number of different ships.
Good Points
The stories themselves cover a wide variety of experiences, and are told in very exciting language that is clearly aimed at showcasing the bravery of those involved. Notes at the end of each chapter delineate the extent of the damage on the ship involved, and where necessary, tell the fates of the crew members. It is a nice touch that the lives of survivors are given a brief overview as well.

While there is a glossary at the end of the book, there is no index or bibliography, and there are no pictures in the book. There are many other sources that have these-- both National Geographic and Dorling Kindersley have lovely compilations of WWII pictures and there are specialized volumes on just about every facet of the war. Readers need only stop by the 940.53 section of their local libraries for a wealth of these.

Even though the 75th anniversary of Pearl Harbor just passed, the interest on the topic has not waned. It is difficult to keep aficionados stocked with enough books on World War II, and this newest Ten True Tales will be snapped up quickly. It's the sort of book that will be read under the covers with a flashlight by interested readers until the pages start to fall out.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."
Treemendous: Diary of a Not Yet Mighty Oak
 
5.0
"A small acorn chronicles her life in diary format from her start to her twentieth year. We see how an..."
Unbound: The Life and Art of Judith Scott
 
4.3
"Bornin 1943, twins Judith and Joyce Scott were close. They played with dolls and tea sets, and had adventures outside...."
Just Pretend
 
4.3
"In this graphic memoir, we see Tori as she is going into 7th grade. She and her friend spend a..."
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 10
 
4.3
"This starts with a list of things every ten year old needs, like a library card, a calendar, and a..."
What's Up, Fire Truck? (A Pop Magic Book): Folds into a 3-D Truck!
 
3.7
"WHAT'S UP, FIRE TRUCK? is an innovative book design that includes lots of lift-the-flap pages and then folds into a..."
The Stuff Between the Stars
 
5.0
"The Stuff Between the Stars by Sandra Nickel is a beautifully illustrated biography of Vera Rubin, the woman astronomer credited..."
Flip Flap Snap: Farm
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Farm by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, will immediately engage young readers. While lifting the flaps..."
Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, is an adorable book for young readers. While lifting..."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."