A Legend of Starfire (A Sliver of Stardust #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1182 0
A Legend of Starfire (A Sliver of Stardust #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 18, 2016
ISBN
978-0062291585
Buy This Book
      
The rhymes of Mother Goose meet A Wrinkle in Time in this sequel to A Sliver of Stardust, from Marissa Burt, the author of Storybound.

The Land of Nod used to be just a name in a nursery rhyme to Wren. But when she discovered the secret magic of stardust, she learned that some of those rhymes had secrets of their own—and the Land of Nod is real.

A few months ago, the evil Magician Boggen attempted to escape his exile on Nod and return to Earth. Wren stopped him, but Boggen is still out there. To save her world, Wren will travel farther than even she could have dreamed: to the heart of Nod itself, where she must defeat Boggen once and for all.

A fantastic adventure with a captivating world, inventive magic, and a dash of science, A Legend of Starfire is the perfect next read for fans of Madeleine L’Engle, John Stephens’s The Emerald Atlas, or Stefan Bachmann’s The Peculiar.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Magical tale full of love and friendship
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
With everything that happened in A Sliver of Stardust, Wren has begun to doubt everything. Her ability, and even if she really wants to be there. She has lost faith in what she loved about the stardust in the first place and when she’s called by the council to help cleanse the gateway, she doubts if she’ll even be able to do it. After a betrayal Wren finds herself in the Land of Nod, a strange new world, mysterious and completely different from her own. With the help of a ragtag group of orphans, Wren evades Boggen’s clutches. With a brilliant tale of magic and mystery, Burt has brought much beloved nursery rhymes back to life in a new and creative way.

After finding herself in the Land of Nod with old and new friends, Wren begins to try and find the Outsiders. A mysterious group of people who might help her take down Boggen. The only problem, Outsiders hate anything to do with stardust. After close calls and quick escapes, Wren finds herself on the other side of the wall, making her way to the Outsiders camp. Wren has to use her quick brain and stardust if she wants to survive out in the wild. But not everything is as it seems. Even beyond the wall. And Wren will learn what it takes to fight off Boggen and defeat him once and for all.

Burt has created an amazing character in Wren, who no matter what has not given up. She is a brilliant fighter and does not lose her faith in the people she cares about. Nod is very much a steampunk land and I loved learning more and more about it. We get to see the toll the tainted stardust has been having on this land, and despite the fact that it’s not Wren’s home, she is as willing as ever to help.

Simon is a character who continues to surprise you. His love of animals has him helping Wren in a way she didn’t even think possible. And despite being rivals for most of their life they have quickly become best friends. Burt has kept the rivalry between them but it’s friendly. Wren is brilliant on her own and strong, but Simon brings his own to the table. Their friendship is very much my favorite part of the book. And so many times Simon has rescued Wren.

What left me wanting more

The ending was great, and I am so happy with the way it ended, but I can’t help but feel that it was open ended and I’m not sure if there is going to be more books in this series. I hope there is because I would love to see what Wren can do now, and how she grows as a character.

Overall this world is so imaginative, with villains I would never want to meet. Side note… WHY are children’s villains so much worse than young adult villains?

Burt created a beautiful world full of magic and friendship. Where a young girl has always had the ability she just needed to trust herself. Full of magic and love this beautiful story is one that will have you laughing and completely on the edge of your seat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."