StarChaser (TodHunter Moon #3)

StarChaser (TodHunter Moon #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 11, 2016
ISBN
978-0062272515
Buy This Book
      
In the third and final book in the TodHunter Moon series, Tod must find a replacement Egg of the Orm before the Castle—and all its Magyk—disappears forever. Perfect for fans of Angie Sage’s original Septimus Heap series and Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series.

Almost one year ago, Alice TodHunter Moon left her PathFinder village to become Apprentice to ExtraOrdinary Wizard Septimus Heap. Now in faraway lands, the Castle is in peril. The brilliant blue stone is crumbling to dust and both the witch Marisa and the wicked Red Queen have their eyes on the throne. But as Tod sets off on a hazardous journey to find a new Keystone, her life may be in the greatest danger of all. Can she save the Castle while evading the fate that befell her mother?

This epic finale to the series praised by Kirkus as “fast-paced, fully satisfying, and ExtraOrdinary” celebrates how hard work, selflessness, and the courage to be who you are can create a harmony that spans the seas and stars

Editor review

1 review
Can Tod Save the Kingdom?
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
3.0
When Septimus' brother Simon's lapis lazuli eye starts to crumble to dust, it bodes ill for many things in the kingdom that depend on it. In order to get things back to the way they were, an ormlet being raised by Spit Fyre must be returned to the Orme Pit and hopefully an Ormlet egg can be found to bury under the castle and restore the magic. Tod and her friends embark on a variety of adventures to accomplish this, and have run ins with the Red Queen, who is greatly desirous of a castle of her own.
Good Points
Sage creates a very rich, medieval fantasy world with its own spells, creatures and terminology. Readers who like to memorize the details of fantasy series will definitely enjoy seeing Tod solve problems using magic charms potions. Seeing Septimus as her teacher is great fun for those who know his adventures for the Magyk series.

There are also lots of cozy houses with good food, deliciously evil villains with malevolent plans that Tod manages to thwart, and adventures in a vividly detailed fantasy world. There is a map at the beginning of the book showing Tod's world.

The various characters are lots of fun as well-- Oskar, wtih his devotion to the Orme, Marissa with her evil machinations, Driffa, who is trying to restore her own kingdom, and Jo-Jo who risks everything to save the kingdom for Kraan. Hand this to readers who know the rules of Quidditch backwards and forwards, who are studying Elvish via Tolkien, or who can outline all the characters and their abilities from Prineas' The Magic Thief.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account