Lola Knows a Lot

27210475.jpg
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
June 07, 2016
ISBN
978-0062250179
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First Day of School, this is an irresistible and hilarious story about a wise and witty girl who is always ready to learn—from author Jenna McCarthy and illustrator Sara Palacios.

Meet Lola! Lola knows a lot. She can cartwheel, she can tie her shoes...she can make her sister crazy. The only thing Lola DOESN’T know...is if she’s really ready to go to school.

Editor review

1 review
Cute story about preparing for school
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
3.0
Lola is ready for school and believes she knows so many things…until her sister mentions she might not. What follows is a fantastic exploration of being confident in what you know and being eager and willing to learn more.

LOLA KNOWS A LOT by Jenna McCarthy is an excellent pick for kids new to school or preparing to go to school. Lola teaches confidence of knowledge, including simple facts like how practicing can develop skills further and specific personality traits of her family members, while also guiding how to be excited for learning new things and not getting overwhelmed. Lola’s sister makes a frequent appearance in the story, whether through text or illustrations, and the sister relationship is extremely realistic. They don’t always get along, but they do love each other.

The illustrations by Sara Palacios are cute and have a sort of colored pencil-like style. The outfits are especially adorable. One of the repeating images is the family cat, which leads to a few humorous moments if you look closely.

For any kids struggling with the idea of school, LOLA KNOWS A LOT should be a definite grab.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account