Floozombies! (Fizzopolis #2)

Floozombies! (Fizzopolis #2)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
October 04, 2016
ISBN
9780062393920
Buy This Book
      
Harold Fuzzwonker, Floyd, and the Fizzies are under attack: Floozombies have invaded Pflugerville! Bestselling author Patrick Carman and Emmy-winning illustrator Brian Sheesley return with the second book in the hilarious and zany Fizzopolis series, perfect for fans of Big Nate and Stick Dog.

What do you get when you mix burptastic Fuzzwonker Fizz with crummy Flooze candy in the Fizzomatic machine? Floozombies, of course!

Harold Fuzzwonker, his best good buddy, Floyd, and the Fizzies have a real problem on their hands, in the shape of slimy, gloppy monsters. Not only must Harold protect Floyd and the secret recipe for Fuzzwonker Fizz from the sneaky Snood family, he also has to stop the Floozombies before they take over the town, all while guarding the biggest secret of all: Fizzopolis!

Editor review

1 review
Zombies for Younger Readers
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Harold Fuzzwonker knows he is taking Floyd the Fizzy to school in his backpack because he would cause too much trouble back in Fizzopolis, but when Floyd brings along Grabstack (who has dreams of being in the theater), Harold knows he's in trouble. Along with his friend, Sammy, he travels under his house to his father's laboratory to investigate. When someone sticks a suspicious substance in the Fuzzwonker Fizz machine, it starts to manufacture floozombies which must be neutralized. This takes a while, but eventually Harold and Sammy figure out a way and enlist Franny's help in getting rid of the floozombies.

Good Points
Harold's desire to keep Fizzopolis under control is admirable, especially since his mad scientist father is not too concerned about safety of health regulations (I think Fizzwonker Fizz in manufactured in part by Franny sucking up swampwater into her trunk and regurgitating it!). Children who think it's a good idea to bring pets to school in backpacks will be endlessly intrigued by the idea of having a fizzy be a constant companion, although from an adult perspective, bringing Floyd to school is not the path of least problems! That, of course, is what makes this so humorously appealing to children.

This feels very much like it might be a Cartoon Network tie-in but is not; there's just something about the supreme goofiness and the style of illustrations that puts my in mind of something like Spongebob SquarePants. Hand this to readers of Jon Scieszka's Frank Einstein books, the Robots Rule! series by Richards or any child who needs to be peeled away from the television on a sunny summer day and at least relocated under a tree with a book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account