Bounce

Hot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
3804 0
Bounce
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
978-0062311726
Buy This Book
      
Seventh grader Frannie Hudson wonders what it would be like to trade in her family for a new one. Her big brother ignores her. Her mean older sister can’t stand her. And her parents have just announced they’re going on a last-minute vacation—without her.

When Frannie makes one desperate, crazy wish—BOOM!—she magically bounces into a whole new life, with a totally different family. And. It. Is. Amazing! There’s only one catch: waking up as someone else keeps happening. Plunged into lives and adventures she’s only imagined—from being a pop star to meeting one super-cute boy—Frannie finds courage in the unforgettable friends and families she meets along the way. But as her new life spins out of control, Frannie begins to worry if she’ll ever get back home.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Christmas Every Day... As Someone Else
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Frannie has horrifically condescending parents who decide that they need to spend three days on a vacation by themselves without Frannie or her older brother and sister... during Christmas. Frannie is disappointed, and feels that 7th grade is not too old to want to celebrate the holiday with her family. She knows that her older sister, Carmen, is just about as negative as her mother, and her older brother Teddy is too busy with his own life to pay attention to her. Sure enough, the two throw a huge party and are upset with Frannie when she shows her face. She wishes that she had a different life... and the next morning she wakes up as another person! As Dakota, she gets to spend Christmas in a cozy cabin with an adorable little sister, delicious food, and horses! At the end of the day, though, she is transported into another body, this time the pop singing sensation Jasmine, whose mother is (if it's possible) even worse than Frannie's own. At least as Jasmine, she can spend Christmas being adored by fans as well as chill assistant Dani. Her next stop is on a houseboat traveling around the world with a cuddly father and younger brother Max. It's an idyllic existence, especially when cute Liam is around. When she turns into Graciella Fabiani, she is plunged into a family tragedy, and realizes that her own life doesn't have quite the level of sadness in it that some people's lives do. This is also true when she returns to her own neighborhood as a girl she knows, Josie. Teddy and Carmen let the party gets out of hand, and hire Josie's mother to help them clean the house. Josie and her mother are living in a decrepit hotel and trying to survive, so they are glad of the work. Josie is sick, and Carmen is actually nice to her, telling her to take a nice long shower, giving her clothes, and making sure she has food. Teddy even gives her all of the housekeeping money, which is enough for her and her mother to move into an apartment. Frannie returns to her life knowing that it's not perfect, but it is the one she has to live.
Good Points
I appreciated that there wasn't any big event that led to Frannie being able to change bodies, she just did, and when she figured out where she was, her reactions were realistically handled. The premise of living out Christmas days from different perspectives was an interesting one.

Frannie is a bit of a whiny character at first, mainly because her mother is incredibly unsupportive. While her mother doesn't change, Frannie does, and this will hopefully make her able to survive some very unpleasant high school years. The other families are mostly diverse and interesting, and middle school readers will enjoy viewing the lives of a variety of characters briefly. There is a lot of information in Graciella's story about living through a funeral that will be of particular interest.

Readers of Margolis' If I Were You, Rodgers' Freaky Friday, and Standiford's Switched at Birthday will enjoy this fantastical tale of putting yourself in someone else's shoes... or cowboy boots!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 2

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."