The Dragonfly Defense (Battle Bugs #7)

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
854 0
The Dragonfly Defense (Battle Bugs #7)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 31, 2016
ISBN
978-0545945097
Buy This Book
      
Max Darwin is called back to Bug Island urgently. Lizards have been spotted making landfall on the banks of the Roaring Rapids river.
Max soon realizes that the lizards are just a small nuisance compared to the giant that's been ferrying them across from Reptile Island. Admiral Longtooth, a huge saltwater crocodile, is determined to show the bugs that the battle may be over, but they'll never win the war.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Watch out for crocodiles!
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Max is enjoying his time at Camp Greenwood with his friends, but a giant yellow dragonfly keeps buzzing around him. It's been a wild since he has used his magical arthropod encyclopedia, but Max knows something is up. When he opens the book, the dragonfly goes into the pages, which has never happened before. Max travels to Bug Island as well and is pleased to see that there is a well constructed fort, and the bugs don't seem to be having any problems. Why did the dragonfly retrieve him, if all of the lizards have been taken care of? There are a few lizards around, and there are some battles against them, but the real threat comes when Max falls into the river and meets saltwater crocodiles! The lizards intend to use them as an armada, jeopardizing the safety of Bug Island! Can Max and the bug army find a way to neutralize the crocodiles before disaster befalls them?
Good Points
Bugs, like dinosaurs, space, and robots, are often a topic of great interest to young readers, so an adventure series with bugs as characters is a brilliant idea. While the reading level states that these are appropriate for 4th graders, strong readers in 2nd and 3rd grade will be able to handle the roughly 100 page books, since the print is large and there are a fair number of illustrations.

There is a lot of fighting and Max is frequently in dangerous situations, so this book is not for the sensitive reader. On the other hand, readers who make every stick they find into a sword will find the fast-paced action very much to their liking.

It's somewhat difficult to find early chapter books that have a lot of action and adventure but don't involved characters from movies of television, and even fewer that involve fantasy. Fans of Messner's Ranger in Time or Osborne's Magic Treehouse series will enjoy Battle Bugs, and will most likely be motivated to go on a bug hunt in the yard after reading the informational notes in the back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Final Chance
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friends no matter what. At least that's what Beth Ann...
Wylder and the Almost Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget the boy...
Wylder and the Secret Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget your summer...
Nubia: Real One
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you be a hero...if society doesn't see you as...
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Angsty teenager Mary Shelley is not interested in carrying on...
The Obsession
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A classic sort of love story...except somebody might wind up...
The Project
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After...
Kingdom of Ink and Paper (The Betwixt and Between Chronicles Book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every book you’ve ever read. Every story you’ve ever ...
The First Holidays
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lila Weston is a pro at keeping secrets, but this...
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...

Latest Member Reviews

Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
"Teen Mary Shelley is the many times great granddaughter of the legendary writer. Everyone in the Shelley lineage has become..."
The Obsession
 
4.7
"THE OBSESSION is a creepy and riveting YA thriller. Delilah lives with her mother and her mother's abusive boyfriend, a..."
The Project
 
4.3
"Lo Denham, magazine assistant and loner, is looking for her sister, Bea. Six years ago, Lo's parents died in a..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."