My Weird School: Talent Show Mix-Up (I Can Read Level 2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1161 0
My Weird School: Talent Show Mix-Up (I Can Read Level 2)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 06, 2016
ISBN
978-0062367433
Buy This Book
      
A new series of Level Two I Can Read titles based on Dan Gutman’s My Weird School series, which has sold more than 10 million books!

Mr. Cooper’s class is having a talent show. But A.J. has a problem—he doesn’t have a talent! What will he do when the big day comes? Join A.J. and the gang from Ella Mentry School as they show young readers why they attend the weirdest—and most fun!—school around.

My Weird School: Talent Show Mix-Up is a Level Two I Can Read book, geared for kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Younger version of a popular series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
A.J. is goaded into signing up for the school talent show by Andrea, his nemesis. Andrea has SOOOO Many talents that she doesn't know which one she should present, but A.J. soon realizes that he doesn't have any talents. When A.J. gets up and starts babbling in order to cover for his lack of talent, his teacher, Mr. Cooper (who wears a super hero costume), praises him for choosing to do stand up for his talent. A.J. is a little confused by this, since he didn't think that telling jokes was a talent, especially since the class seems to laugh at his regular statements but not at his jokes.
Good Points
The My Weird School books are tremendously popular with 3rd and 4th graders, so it's interesting to see a series with the same characters aimed at slightly younger readers. With their bright, goofy illustrations and funny titles, books like Ms. Daisy is Crazy often appeal to children who aren't quite ready for the complexity of text they offer.

I Can Read books are a great tool in helping children learn to read and encouraging them to enjoy stories. Picture books are often much more difficult, even though the text-to-picture ratio is appealing. I Can Read books have one or two sentences on each page and move very quickly, which makes beginning readers feel a sense of accomplishment when they finish a book.

Readers who want funny stories that will make them laugh will enjoy this easy-to-read version of the popular My Weird School series, and may even be enticed to coming up with a talent show act!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."