Emma and Julia Love Ballet

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1081 0
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 23, 2016
ISBN
978-0439894012
Buy This Book
      
Emma is little. Julia is big.
They both love ballet.

Emma takes ballet lessons. So does Julia.
Emma is learning to be a ballerina.
Julia is a professional ballerina.

They are both excited about the big performance in the theater tonight.
Emma will be watching from the audience.
Julia will be dancing onstage!
And afterward, Emma will go backstage to meet her ballet hero!

Barbara McClintock's richly illustrated, heartwarming story is sure to become a perennial favorite.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Love Ballet
(Updated: June 16, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Barbara McClintock tells the beautiful story of two ballerinas from different worlds, but with a shared love of the stage. Emma is a young girl who dreams of being a ballerina. Julia is a young woman who is getting ready for a big performance. Each page juxtaposes Emma and Julia's day to day. By putting them side by side, the reader can see that despite their age and background differences, Emma and Julia have a huge thing in common. Emma shares the same dedication to dance as Julia does. They both wake up early. They both have balanced meals. They both go to dance practice. Everything they do leads them to the same evening performance. Emma, a budding ballerina, gets to see Julia on the big stage. It is a heartwarming finale that brings two worlds together. McClintock's illustrations are filled with warm and soft colors, and the movement of the dancers jumps off the page.

EMMA AND JULIA LOVE BALLET is perfect for kids who love ballet and dance, as well as fans of Misty Copeland. Emma and Julia are truly inspiring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."
Athena: Goddess of Wisdom and War
 
4.0
" This graphic novel showcases several stories about the ancient Greek goddess Athena. Beginning sketches introduce us to a variety..."
I Speak Boy
 
4.0
"Emerie Woods think she has her best friend Harper all figured out. In her capacity as "Love Coordinator", she has..."
The Twin Dogs
 
4.0
"In his picture book debut, illustrator Inoue tells a classic new sibling tale, but offers the fun twist of twin..."
Weird Kid
 
5.0
"Jake Wind is finding middle school a challenge: his dad is a proctologist who can't stop making butt jokes, and..."