Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
964 0
Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 26, 2016
ISBN
978-0062352330
Buy This Book
      
The Brothers Grimm’s fairy tales are brought to life for a new generation of readers in their original, uncut form by the modern master of gothic horror, Gris Grimly.

Grimm. The name alone is enough to call to mind any number of the timeless fairy tales collected by brothers Jacob and Wilhelm in the early nineteenth century. These folktales have been told and retold in many forms for over two centuries, and while the particular mix of fantasy, adventure, and wonder that defined their seven-volume collection has endured, the terror, violence, and darkness of the original stories has often been lost in translation.

Enter Gris Grimly, who has faithfully reproduced the original text of a selection of tales and adorned them with his own inimitable artwork. The result is a Grimm collection unlike any other, set in a world that is whimsically sinister, darkly vivid, and completely unforgettable.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A dark twisty illustrated fairy tale
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
What I Liked:
This is just the chapter sampler but I am blown away once again by the amazingness that is Gris Grimly. I first heard of Gris when his illustrated version of Frankenstein came out and ever since I have been in love with his work. His art style is very dark, twisted and a little bit creepy (which I love). So the combining of Grimm fairy tales, which have always been really dark, plus Gris's illustrations just tie this book together really well. This chapter sampler has only three stories, Little Red-Cap, The Girl Without Hands, and Rapunzel. One of which I have never heard of, but was still really good. For anyone who knows me, they will know that I adore fairy tales from once upon a time on T.V., to the dark twisted fairy tales like Splintered by A.G. Howard and Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. So the fact that one of my favorite artists was illustrating fairy tales was just a dream come true. The fact that it comes out on my birthday is just a sign that this book is meant for me... And well for you too. Because let's be honest who wouldn't want these amazing illustrated fairy tales. And let me tell you it is amazing. The detail that Gris puts in to each and every one of the drawings even if it's a simple chapter header is just beautiful. From the main focus to the tiny details, nothing gets overlooked with this man. The illustrations complement the story beautifully and never seem to overpower it. One thing I always tend to do with Gris's books is to flip through them to just look at the art. It's always so beautiful I find myself staring at them. And the best part is there is always something new to look at when you reread them. Not to mention there will be 40 stories in this collection, and I just know there are going to be some amazing art in this book. One thing I love is that a couple of these are familiar like Rapunzel and Little Red-Cap, but most of these are stories I have never heard of. Which I think will definitely be very interesting to see. I love that I am being introduced to new fairy tales through Gris's work. He does such an amazing job bringing these stories to life, that you won't be able to help yourself from falling in love. The stories in the chapter sampler are just black and white, so I don't know if they are going to have color. But if I have to go off what he's done in previous books, most will be in black and white with some of the big ones in color. Which I love because I love that random pop of color when you're not expecting it. Not to mention that he does amazing things with the color.

What left me wanting more:
To be honest I think you would have a really really hard time finding something I didn't like about this chapter sampler. One thing I would love is if the stories were longer. They are very short, but the end result will have 40 stories so I don't think that will be a problem. A couple words of warning for parents. I would just be cautious, Grimm and Gris are both dark and while there was nothing truly horrible in the stories, I say just do a quick read through to be sure, there's nothing in here that you wouldn't want your kids to see. I would recommend this to kids age 8 and up.

Overall I am so excited that this will be out soon. I have waited patiently (not really) since he first announced this book. Beautifully told and illustrated, I would be surprised if you didn't like it. I would recommend this to those that love Ransom Riggs, dark fairy tales, and beautiful illustrations. I am so excited to see the finished copy of this book. It's going to look so good with my Gris Grimly collection.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...
The Moment We Fell (Mystic Shores Series, Book #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing good happens when people keep secrets. ...
The Hit List
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to...
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring...
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a hilarious heavily illustrated middle-grade series...
Small World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Nanda is born, the whole of her world is...
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
When school is out, it’s time to celebrate and have...
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An instant New York Times bestseller! ...
Bad Bella
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."