Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1142 0
Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 26, 2016
ISBN
978-0062352330
Buy This Book
      
The Brothers Grimm’s fairy tales are brought to life for a new generation of readers in their original, uncut form by the modern master of gothic horror, Gris Grimly.

Grimm. The name alone is enough to call to mind any number of the timeless fairy tales collected by brothers Jacob and Wilhelm in the early nineteenth century. These folktales have been told and retold in many forms for over two centuries, and while the particular mix of fantasy, adventure, and wonder that defined their seven-volume collection has endured, the terror, violence, and darkness of the original stories has often been lost in translation.

Enter Gris Grimly, who has faithfully reproduced the original text of a selection of tales and adorned them with his own inimitable artwork. The result is a Grimm collection unlike any other, set in a world that is whimsically sinister, darkly vivid, and completely unforgettable.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A dark twisty illustrated fairy tale
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
What I Liked:
This is just the chapter sampler but I am blown away once again by the amazingness that is Gris Grimly. I first heard of Gris when his illustrated version of Frankenstein came out and ever since I have been in love with his work. His art style is very dark, twisted and a little bit creepy (which I love). So the combining of Grimm fairy tales, which have always been really dark, plus Gris's illustrations just tie this book together really well. This chapter sampler has only three stories, Little Red-Cap, The Girl Without Hands, and Rapunzel. One of which I have never heard of, but was still really good. For anyone who knows me, they will know that I adore fairy tales from once upon a time on T.V., to the dark twisted fairy tales like Splintered by A.G. Howard and Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. So the fact that one of my favorite artists was illustrating fairy tales was just a dream come true. The fact that it comes out on my birthday is just a sign that this book is meant for me... And well for you too. Because let's be honest who wouldn't want these amazing illustrated fairy tales. And let me tell you it is amazing. The detail that Gris puts in to each and every one of the drawings even if it's a simple chapter header is just beautiful. From the main focus to the tiny details, nothing gets overlooked with this man. The illustrations complement the story beautifully and never seem to overpower it. One thing I always tend to do with Gris's books is to flip through them to just look at the art. It's always so beautiful I find myself staring at them. And the best part is there is always something new to look at when you reread them. Not to mention there will be 40 stories in this collection, and I just know there are going to be some amazing art in this book. One thing I love is that a couple of these are familiar like Rapunzel and Little Red-Cap, but most of these are stories I have never heard of. Which I think will definitely be very interesting to see. I love that I am being introduced to new fairy tales through Gris's work. He does such an amazing job bringing these stories to life, that you won't be able to help yourself from falling in love. The stories in the chapter sampler are just black and white, so I don't know if they are going to have color. But if I have to go off what he's done in previous books, most will be in black and white with some of the big ones in color. Which I love because I love that random pop of color when you're not expecting it. Not to mention that he does amazing things with the color.

What left me wanting more:
To be honest I think you would have a really really hard time finding something I didn't like about this chapter sampler. One thing I would love is if the stories were longer. They are very short, but the end result will have 40 stories so I don't think that will be a problem. A couple words of warning for parents. I would just be cautious, Grimm and Gris are both dark and while there was nothing truly horrible in the stories, I say just do a quick read through to be sure, there's nothing in here that you wouldn't want your kids to see. I would recommend this to kids age 8 and up.

Overall I am so excited that this will be out soon. I have waited patiently (not really) since he first announced this book. Beautifully told and illustrated, I would be surprised if you didn't like it. I would recommend this to those that love Ransom Riggs, dark fairy tales, and beautiful illustrations. I am so excited to see the finished copy of this book. It's going to look so good with my Gris Grimly collection.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."