Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9: Amelia Bedelia on the Job

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
819 0
Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9: Amelia Bedelia on the Job
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
6+
Release Date
March 08, 2016
ISBN
978-0062334121
Buy This Book
      
In the ninth chapter book in the New York Times–bestselling series, Amelia Bedelia and her friends at school explore different jobs and careers and think about what they want to be when they grow up! Amelia Bedelia is especially curious about her own father’s line of work. If he spends the day pitching to a client, does that mean he plays a lot of baseball?

The Amelia Bedelia chapter books star Amelia Bedelia as a young girl and feature funny family and friendship stories just right for fans of Judy Moody and Ivy + Bean. The Amelia Bedelia books have sold more than 35 million copies since we first met the iconic character in 1963!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A crack up from start to finish
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
I grew up on Amelia Bedelia books. I remember the ever funny adventures she used to get in to, and always wondering what words she would mix up next. Amelia Bedelia on the job is written by Peggy's nephew, Herman and it's what makes the young Amelia's misadventures so fun. There is a ring of originality inside this story that makes you nostalgic for your childhood.

What I liked:

Amelia Bedelia has always been a favorite of mine from when I was younger, so to read On the Job was just a walk down memory lane. This story follows a young Amelia as she hilariously mixes up all the different jobs described in the book. The way that young Amelia's imagination runs away with her, shown through the awesome illustrations done by Lynne Avril, is why I would suggest this book to kids who like funny misunderstandings. The easy style of writing paired with the illustrations make this a book that any kid will have a amazing time reading. For those adults that pick it up, the way Herman takes a younger version of Amelia, but keeps her true to the Amelia we all grew up reading is simply amazing. Herman does such a great job of incorporating so many different career paths and explaining them in fun ways, we also see the support of the teachers and Amelia's classmates. Especially when she doesn't think her idea is good enough, because it's not done the same way as everyone elses, also really adds something to the story. With the support of her class, parents, and teachers Amelia realizes that not everyone thinks the same way and that okay. Herman did a beautiful job bringing young Amelia to life. I really recommend this story to young kids. It's a funny, wacky story that does play on words extremely well.

What left me wanting more:

This whole book to be honest. This is the 9th book in the young Amelia books and I can't wait to read the rest of them. Overall I really loved the story and the message behind it. It's a great story for kids and will make them
crack up from the very first page. Amelia Bedelia On the Job is sure to become a quick favorite among kids and adults alike.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher, Charlie...
Serious Moonlight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After an awkward first encounter, Birdie and Daniel are forced...
Sway
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school...
Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online...
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with...
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adam is living the dream, literally.... There are two...
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Since Skye Reilly can remember, she has been looking...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history,...
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becks: How does a straight guy accidentally come out...
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonardo Cantrell is a painfully shy sixteen-year-old who cannot look...
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lena and Campbell aren't friends. ...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The youngest doctor in America, an Indian-American teen makes her...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons was...

Latest Member Reviews

The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
 
4.3
"I started out reading an ARC of Symptoms of a Heartbreak, but then I switched to reading a hardcover in..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.3
"I’m going to start out this post by letting it be known by all and sundry that I was provided..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
Frankly in Love
 
5.0
"FRANKLY IN LOVE is a surprisingly deep and heartfelt read. Although it is described as a rom-com, this is not..."