The Thief and the Beanstalk

 
5.0
 
3.4 (5)
2537 0
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0689871732
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

And the tale continues...
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
P. W. Catanese's first novel is a continuation of the old favorite Jack and the Beanstalk. Years after the original story takes place, Jack is now a rich old man. His legendary exploits are just that the stuff of legends. He lives a quiet life. Nick, on the other hand, is an orphan barely able to keep himself fed.

He falls in with a bloodthirsty band of thieves who are out to rob Jack of all his money. With no choice but to do what they say, young Nick breaks into Jack's house in order to let the other thieves in. However, he's caught in the act and surprisingly, let go with a gift of magic beans from Jack.

Readers won't be surprised that Nick plants the beans, or goes up the beanstalk. He's a desperate kid. He finds that some things up above have changed, while others have stayed the same. The original evil Giant's sons are now the rulers of the roost and the kindly Giant's wife is their prisoner. The question is&will Nick follow in Jack's footsteps and steal his way to a fortune, or will he choose another path?

Full of ugly rat-faced giants, terrifying spiders with a thirst for human blood, and thieves that would as soon cut your head off as talk to you, this is a story to keep you on your toes. But, it's also a story with a great heart. We learn how Jack's early thievery has colored everything else in his life and the regret he feels over leaving the Giant's wife behind. We also see Nick fighting with himself internally over what kind of person he is.

I recommend this book for ages 8 and up. Those on the younger end may want to read this book with a parent due to some scary scenes, but if they can handle Harry Potter or the like, they'll be fine here too. I very much enjoyed Catanese's story it stays true to the original, but also forges new ground. I think you'll like it too.

Don't forget to enter to win a copy during May 2005.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 4

User reviews

5 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
The Theif and the beanstalk
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by tiffani

i think that this sroty is a great and fun story.i read it in class with my teacher and classmates.Its good that somebody thought of writing about the other side of jack and the beanstalk and what happened later.This is a book that ill tell everyone about.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Best thing since the original Jack!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Michelle Landrum

This book is so cleverly written and full of intrigue and suspense that they MUST make a movie of it!! My son needed to read a book for a project at school and chose this one. I have to admit, I kept him up a bit late some nights because we just could not put it down...you always want to know what will happen next!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Pleasantly Suprised
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Cheryl

I was not sure what to expect from this book. I am a huge fan of well-written fantasy, but I'm always a little hesitant to try this genre simply because there is so many poorly-written examples of fantasy out there. However, because I am also a sucker for fractured fairy tales, I thought I'd give this book a try. I was immediately hooked!

The story is well developed and characterized. It follows a poor orphan's self-discovery. Nick (the orphan) finds himself facing many choices that determine the type of person he is. He must choose between being the thief so many people tell him he is or the hero he is given the opportunity to become. I felt myself really wanting Nick to choose to be a better person.

I really liked this book because of the strong images painted by the author. I also enjoyed the themes of choice,forgiveness,and kindness presented in the book. However, because of the vivid imagery used to describe the spider scenes and a few other tense events, I would recommend this book for anyone 10 or older.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
great
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by crystal

I have read this book and it is really good Will there be a sequel to it very good. Alll the excitment and every thing it made the story the best very very good i cant tell u how good it is thanx for making it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
really iffy
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by chatterbox891

When I recieved this book, I was extremely excited! I could wait to sit down and devour the pages one by one.

It starts out with Nick, a young abandoned boy, who realizes that his only way of survival is to steal. Later, he joins a group of older thieves who intend to use young Nick to their own advantage. Thus begins the gripping story that is The Thief and the Beanstalk!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."