Arf (Bowser and Birdie #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2081 0
Arf (Bowser and Birdie #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 26, 2016
ISBN
9780545643344
Buy This Book
      
Why would anyone break into 19 Gentilly Lane? That's where the Gaux family lives, and everyone knows they have nothing worth stealing. More important, the house is usually guarded by Birdie Gaux's dog, Bowser, a large and handsome fellow with a big set of sharp teeth.

Now Birdie is looking worried and Bowser is on the trail of something rotten. Who was behind the break in? Why is a girl with green hair asking odd questions about what happened to Birdie's dad, a policeman who was killed in the line of duty years ago? Worst of all, why is the whole town starting to stink of limeade aftershave and CAT?!?

The death of Birdie's father may be a cold case, but Bowser can tell it's heating up fast. Someone is coming after Birdie and her family, and Bowser must be ready to protect them from anything. Even that awful cat.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Dog Who Smelled Lime Aftershave*
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Birdie's mother is home from working as an engineer on an oil rig, but right after her return the family home is broken into and the frame holding Birdie's father's medal of honor is ruined. Nothing seems to be taken, and another home, belonging to the wealthy Richlieu's, is also broken into, although there pearls are stolen. Birdie and her friend Junior, as well as Bowser (our narrator), investigate the mystery and soon gets sucked deep into a cold case... the one that caused Birdie's father's death. They meet the young woman whose father was killed in New Orleans, and soon Birdie finds the woman drowned at a campsite. The Richlieu's robbery was staged, so how do the two connect? Birdie's mother loses her job when the price of oil drops and is soon keeping company with Vin Pardo, who says he will help her find another job. Bowser is not a fan of the man, especially since he smells of lime aftershave and cat... the same smells that the house had after the break in. Birdie manages to find out too much about the whole mystery, which puts her in danger. Luckily, she has Bowser at her side to protect her.

*Apologies to Lillian Jackson Braun!
Good Points
While the narration by the dog is a bit uneven (sometimes Bowser is obsessed with bacon in a very dog like fashion, but at other times he is fully rooted in the human world and can pick up very human details), this is a solid murder mystery. Birdie, along with her grandmother and mother, have moved on with their lives after the death of Birdie's father in the line of duty, but they still would like closure. The grandmother in particular is a fun character, fiesty but vulnerable at the same time.

Vin Pardo (hopefully no relation to Don Pardo, the television announcer!)is a deliciously slimy villain, and even though Bowser knows from the beginning that he is most likely behind things, the clues as to why are still revealed in a satifyingly realistic way. Even I didn't see some of the interplay between characters.

It's hard to find middle grade murder mysteries, so this is a good bet for readers who enjoyed Beil's Red Blazer Girls, Runholdt's Kari and Lucas Mysteries, and any of the Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew reboots but want a more intense mystery along the lines of Alane Ferguson's Forensic Mysteries or Walter Sorrell's Fake ID series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In My Heart
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A working mother reassures her child that even when they’re...
Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
One young girl reflects on a year with her beloved...
The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
Moonwalker
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...

Latest Member Reviews

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
Girl, Serpent, Thorn
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."