Little Wing Learns to Fly

61okROQTxwL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
June 14, 2016
ISBN
978-0062360335
Buy This Book
      
No matter how hard Little Wing tries to fly, he always flops . . . until one day when his fluttering takes him above the clouds and far away—maybe too far away! Lost in the sky, Little Wing has to find his way home. But thanks to a special someone, he learns the importance of dragon rules. And with a helping wing to guide him, Little Wing can be flip, flop, fearless!

With Calista Brill’s sincere story and Jennifer A. Bell’s vibrant illustrations, Little Wing Learns to Fly is utterly convincing as a sweet coming-of-age tale. Fans of Finding Nemo and Giraffes Can’t Dance will love rooting for Little Wing as the little dragon that could.

Children and adults alike will get carried away on Little Wing’s journey home!

Editor review

1 review
Lovely book with dragons
Overall rating
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Young dragon Little Wing struggles to fly. After practicing and practicing, he finally gets the hang of it, but then he doesn’t know how to stop. When he flies too far away, he has to find a way back to his home and remember the dragon rules his mother taught him.

LITTLE WING LEARNS TO FLY is an adorable picture book featuring a dragon who takes his flying skills a little too far once he’s mastered them. The illustrations are absolutely gorgeous. Many of the scenes, especially the forest ones, feature dark colors, and the illustrator does a marvelous job of making them soft and adding light when necessary. While the scenery is beautiful, the facial expressions are guaranteed to induce some giggling, especially as Little Wing practices flying.

The book does a lovely job of encouraging readers not to give up, while also providing a reminder that sometimes skills or talents come with responsibilities or rules. Little Wing can enjoy flying, but as the story shows, he still has much to learn about things like wind and distance before he is ready to fly alone. The affection between the mother and son dragon gives a positive example of dealing with any conflict in a loving manner.

LITTLE WING LEARNS TO FLY is an excellent pick for young kids who love dragons, want to fly, and want to learn what it means to be responsible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account