Brooke's Not-So-Perfect Plan

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
969 0
Brooke's Not-So-Perfect Plan
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 05, 2016
ISBN
978-0062358936
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of The Cupcake Diaries and The Baby-Sitters Club, this new series is about four best friends who are confidentially yours when writing their middle school newspaper's advice column.

Brooke, Vanessa, and Heather have been friends for as long as they can remember, and they're positive they'll rock their first year of middle school. The trio decides to sign up for a journalism elective, and they find themselves columnists for the school's newspaper, the Lincoln Log. They and their new friend Tim are put in charge of the advice column!

The year is going perfectly for Brooke. She has her friends, her travel soccer team, the advice column, and a lot of new activities . . . but maybe too many activities. As Brooke struggles to balance all her commitments and schoolwork, she realizes she may have bitten off more than she can chew. Can she figure out how to have it all and stay on the advice column without sacrificing her other responsibilities?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Sweet and fluffy like a good treat
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
What I Loved:
I started watching the morning and evening news when I was ten years old and did three years of journalism in high school, so you could call me a fan of the news. Juuuuuuuust maybe. I’m also a fan of cute middle-grade novels because the warm feeling they give me at their best is a good substitute for the warm feeling I get from being around my cats.

It’s been a while since I was on the newspaper staff way back in high school (aka five years ago), but reading Brooke’s Not-So-Perfect Plan brought back fond memories of my newsie days. Interviewing students during lunch for articles, editing other students’ articles as senior editor, the joy of seeing my name in print as the author of something,… The book is so sweet and funny it made me temporarily forget how hectic newsie life was too! Middle school is generally awful, but Brooke’s misadventures with her friends will make you miss it just a little bit.

If you were or are an overachiever, you’ll see a lot of yourself in Brooke and relate to how she wants to do everything but seems to get nothing done. I wasn’t in much of a reading mood when I got to Brooke’s Not-So-Perfect Plan, but the giggleworthy incidents of Brooke being dyed purple and Vanessa getting stuck under a chair put me back into one! This is the kind of book that will fix almost any bad mood.

What Left Me Wanting:
However, the novel is a little aimless at times as Brooke tries to do everything–stay on her soccer team and become captain, be the section head for the advice column, run for sixth-grade president, and more–and gets very little done because she’s so spread so thin. An overachiever learning her limits is a viable plot, but there needs to be something cohesive to bind it all together and there’s no such thing in Brooke’s story. Without that cohesive element, it’s hard to want to pick the book back up once you set it down.

My suspension of disbelief was tested by the school paper’s apparently small staff but enormous popularity. What I observed in high school was that a paper’s staff is directly related to the paper’s popularity among the student body. My school paper’s staff was ten people my sophomore year, seven my junior year, and three my senior year. All three years, we had little to no interest from students in either taking the class or reading the paper. We got a different school’s newspaper mailed to us regularly and they had a fifty-plus student staff in addition to lots of interest both in and out of the school. The inverse relationship between the Lincoln Log‘s popularity (so popular that supporting character Tim becomes a school celebrity) and its staff size seems strange to me.

Final Verdict:
Still, Brooke’s Not-So-Perfect Plan is a sweet-as-sugar start to a new MG series sure to entertain middle-schoolers, teenagers, and adults alike. I’m suddenly very glad my ARC of this book came as a 2-in-1 edition and I can get started on Vanessa’s Fashion Face-Off when I’m ready!
Good Points
*utterly adorable
*nostalgia-inducing if you were ever on a school newspaper
*good fix for a bad mood or reading slump
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective—is...
How to Get Away with Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing...
Playing the Cards Your Dealt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Kyle's Little Sister
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My name is Grace, not "Kyle's little sister!" ...
Ground Zero
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller...
Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...

Latest Member Reviews

The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."