Outlaws of Time: The Legend of Sam Miracle

sam miracle.png
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 19, 2016
ISBN
0062327267
Buy This Book
      
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author of 100 Cupboards, pits a misfit twelve-year-old against a maniacal villain with a deadly vendetta. This one-of-a kind story is must read for fans of Brandon Mull and Soman Chainani, and the start of a thrilling tale from a masterful storyteller.

Sam Miracle’s life is made up of dreams, dreams where he’s a courageous, legendary hero instead of a foster kid with two bad arms that can barely move. Sometimes these dreams feel so real, they seem like forgotten memories. And sometimes they make him believe that his arms might come alive again.

But Sam is about to discover that the world he knows and the world he imagines are separated by only one thing: time. And that separation is only an illusion. The laws of time can be bent and shifted by people with special magic that allows them to travel through the past, present, and future. But not all of these “time walkers” can be trusted. One is out to protect Sam so that he can accept his greatest destiny, and another is out to kill him so that a prophecy will never be fulfilled. However, it’s an adventurous girl named Glory and two peculiar snakes who show Sam the way through the dark paths of yesterday to help him make sure there will be a tomorrow for every last person on earth.

Editor review

1 review
I Gotta Go Back in Time
(Updated: February 14, 2016)
If you a Rick Riordan fan, you will simply fall in love with The Legend of Sam Miracle. N.D Wilson creates a gripping story about time travel and the Old West. The book is filled with magical, time travel, and evil villains.

Sam isn’t your typical hero. He is scatterbrained and day dreams. He forgets a lot. But quickly readers discover not all is as it seems. With Glory and Father Tiempo by his side, Sam believes anything is possible. But a lot can go wrong when you time travel. It is up to our heroes to hopefully save the day… this time maybe?

N.D. Wilson does a fantastic job world building. At times it feels like you are right in the pages with the Sam and Glory. The suspense builds from page to page, making it an easy read. The chapters vary in length but would not seem to overwhelming for a beginning reader. Wilson does a great job brining the characters to life and having a movie like quality to the pacing.

Outlaws of Time: The Legend of Sam Miracle is a fun and exciting read that middle school children will really enjoy. N.D. Wilson lays the groundwork for future installments of this series which I cannot wait to read.

This is one of best time travel books of the year. Highly recommended for middle grade readers.
Good Points
Who doesn't love a great time travel book!
Loveable characters
Hope for more installments!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account