Orbiting Jupiter

 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1602 0
Orbiting Jupiter
Publisher
Age Range
11+
Release Date
October 06, 2015
ISBN
9780544462229
Buy This Book
      
Jack, 12, tells the gripping story of Joseph, 14, who joins his family as a foster child. Damaged in prison, Joseph wants nothing more than to find his baby daughter, Jupiter, whom he has never seen. When Joseph has begun to believe he’ll have a future, he is confronted by demons from his past that force a tragic sacrifice.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Pulls at the Heart Strings
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
I read Orbiting Jupiter after getting a great recommendation from the school media center. This short book at first might seem like a short novella of sorts, but it packs a powerful punch. I was warned that once I read the first page, I would find myself stuck in my seat unable to put the book down. The advice was correct. I picked up the book at a coffee shop and couldn't leave until I finished.

The story begins tragically with 14 year old Joseph, finding himself in foster care. He has a damaged past and is searching for his baby daughter Jupiter. In a different twist, we do not hear this story from Joseph but from Jack, the son whose parents have taken Joseph in as a foster child. While not in my level of experience growing up, there is a familiarity in the characters and their struggles that hits the heart. Jake and Joseph a characters remind me of people I knew growing up, even thought their struggles were not the same.

The story reveals itself slowly and moves at a quick pace. The author is careful with his words and I think this adds more power behind them. There are a lot of emotions in this book both good and bad. Many of my coworkers and students have picked up the book and are highly recommending it. Great for readers looking for a different take in the YA genre, Orbiting Jupiter has made in to my must recommend book list.

A unique and powerful book.
Good Points
Unique
Powerful story in a small package
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Tragedy
(Updated: February 16, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
I think "What the?" is my prevailing thought while reading this book. The story involves a 14 years old boy who is a father of a young, young daughter. The narrator is Jack, who is Joseph's foster brother and who agrees to help him find his daughter named Jupiter.

Yes. The story is unsurprisingly weird. But original.

The narrator is like Nick from THE GREAT GATSBY. He is an observer but also, at certain points in the book, a participant. (Yes, I'm comparing quite a lot of books to THE GREAT GATSBY, because why not?) But to his foster brother, he is truly a brother who has his back at all times. Together, the two boys search for Jupiter. But Jack's unmistakable tone sets the stage to tragedy and sadness.

Joseph, Jupiter's father, is orbiting Jupiter in a way. (Title drop!) He's a sad character, who has great determination and strength and love, and one just can't help but feel so terrible for him. His past and his actions and his resilience so reminds me of Jay Gatsby. He, like Jay, will go far for the people he loves, and the tragic ending is similar to Jay's. He's one of those characters that I just want to wrap a security blanket around. He needs to be kept warm!

The relationship between Jack and Joseph is heartwarming. They go from "dislike" to true brotherhood. Their friendship is complex, but eventually, Joseph does trust Jack as if they were related to each other by blood and heart. It's a beacon of light for Jupiter's father, but it doesn't save him in the end. (Play Jeff Buckley's "Hallelujah" for a heavy emotional toll.)

The plot is driven by Jack but mostly Joseph who is very determined to find Jupiter and take care of her. The story flows smoothly, a bit lazily for a short book. But thanks to the shortness of the book, the plot doesn't drag on and on and on.

And there's that ending where I like to rage at. The author is great at using few words, but he could have spared some to throw in a few details and clear up the lack of clarity in the ending. Still, nice work and use of words.

In conclusion, ORBITING JUPITER is an unique tale indeed. The characters stand out; the short, almost frugal use of words is noted. If you're looking for a quick, different book without romance, then this is for you. It's reminiscence of BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."