Sit, Stay, Love

Hot
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
5194 0
Sit, Stay, Love
Author(s)
Age Range
9+
Release Date
January 26, 2016
ISBN
9780545861571
Buy This Book
      
Cecilia Murray has been wishing for a dog for as long as she can remember. And when a cute pug named Potato is brought in to Orphan Paws, the shelter where she volunteers, she knows he is the dog she's been waiting for. There's just one problem: Eric Chung -- a popular, arrogant boy from school -- adopts Potato first. What's worse, he hopes to train the little tater to become a show-dog superstar. Cecilia knows that Potato is not cut out for a life of sparkly collars and snobby judges, so she sets out to sabotage Eric's plans. But the more time Cecilia spends with Potato and Eric, the more she questions everything she thought she knew about dog shows ... and a certain cute show-dog trainer. Can Cecilia save Potato -- while also listening to her heart?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Perfect Valentine Gift!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Cecelia is having a hard time-- her mother has left her and her father, and her father is struggling with a career change. He was a P.E. teacher, but after years in school has become a lawyer... but he takes cases that aren't terribly remunerative. When a fire damages the family home, Cecelia and her father has to move in with an aunt who does not care for pets. Cecelia spends a lot of time at the local animal shelter, helping out, and has recently found a pug with whom she has an instant connection. She knows she won't be able to adopt Potato herself, but she's not happy when the wealthy jock Eric Chung and his family do. Eric wants to prove to his very driven parents that a rescue dog can do well in a dog show, but Potato has bonded so closely with Cecelia that Eric has to ask for her help. Eric's sister becomes good friends with Cecelia, which helps both of their social lives, and Cecelia starts to realize that she really enjoys hanging out with Eric, even when they don't need to train Potato.
Good Points
This had so many good qualities! It showed a girl with realistic problems (housing insecurity, struggling father) who is still trying to do good things in her community. It has a multicultural element as well. There is some friend drama, and most importantly, there is a light romance between characters who have shared interests and a mutual respect and friendship. Plus the cover is adorable. Love, love. love this!

Readers who like HarperTeen's First Kisses series, Aladdin's Mix! books, and Bloomsbury's If Only romances will enjoy this middle grade tale of drama, cute boys... and cute dogs!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1

User reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Plz make a movie
Can you plz make a movie of this. OR CAN SOMEONE PLZ MAKE A MOVIE OF IT TO PUT ON YOUTUBE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Brea Robinson is a murderer. That’s what everyone tells...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Les Misérables meets Six of Crows in this page-turning...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...

Latest Member Reviews

Escaping to Freedom
 
5.0
"The story keeps you guessing what'll happen next. The main character is an average 16 year-old. Her world is thrown..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."
The Suicide Journal
 
4.8
"The Suicide Journal is novella centered around a teenager named Cal. The story essentially centers around Cal's decision to kill..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Rising
 
4.0
"The story: In a dystopian future, the former state of Alaska is now home to what remains..."
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
"The Call of the Rift: Flight by Jae Waller is the first book in an alternate-historical fantasy about Kateiko, a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I learned a lot about parkour and also Islam from this book. I appreciate a book that focuses around a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"Adventure, sport, romance and cross-cultural understanding"
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.5
"Future collides with the past in Legacy by Jesikah Sundin, the first book in her series The Biodome Chronicles. Following..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I have read many Cinderella retellings in my life. It's a story I have always loved and been drawn to...."
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
4.0
"An intriguing world. The story: Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just..."
The Omen of Stones
 
4.5
"An intriguing follow up. The Story: River and Omen were born on the same..."