In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
962 0
In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 10, 2015
ISBN
9781419707858
Buy This Book
      
Jimmy McClean is a Lakota boy—though you wouldn’t guess it by his name: his father is part white and part Lakota, and his mother is Lakota. When he embarks on a journey with his grandfather, Nyles High Eagle, he learns more and more about his Lakota heritage—in particular, the story of Crazy Horse, one of the most important figures in Lakota and American history. Drawing references and inspiration from the oral stories of the Lakota tradition, celebrated author Joseph Marshall III juxtaposes the contemporary story of Jimmy with an insider’s perspective on the life of Tasunke Witko, better known as Crazy Horse (c. 1840–1877). The book follows the heroic deeds of the Lakota leader who took up arms against the US federal government to fight against encroachments on the territories and way of life of the Lakota people, including leading a war party to victory at the Battle of the Little Bighorn. Along with Sitting Bull, Crazy Horse was the last of the Lakota to surrender his people to the US army. Through his grandfather’s tales about the famous warrior, Jimmy learns more about his Lakota heritage and, ultimately, himself.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The path of Crazy Horse
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jimmy is bullied by his classmates at school because he has blue eyes, light skin, and a Scottish last name, which is not usual for a Lakota boy. His grandfather, seeing that he is not happy, decides to take him on a road trip to teach him about Crazy Horse, who was known as "Light Hair" when young and whom Jimmy resembles. The two travel to a variety of sites where Crazy Horse himself traveled. The grandfather shares stories of the history of that time, which is sometimes at odds with the "official" histories posted at the historic sites because "History is written by the victors." Jimmy learns through these stories of Crazy Horse's bravery in fighting, as well as in choosing not to fight when it would mean the destruction of innocent women and children, and uses these lessons to stand up to his tormentors when he returns to school.
Good Points
Marshall has written previous books for adults about Crazy Horse, so the research is well done, and it's one of the few books about Native Americans that meets with the approval of reviewers who know more about that culture than I do. There is a map of the duos travels across South Dakota, Wyoming, and Montana, and the sites they visit are ones that readers can see online. It would also be interesting to read about them and compare the grandfather's information about the events to the National Park Service's.

The book moves quickly from place to place, and the stories are generally exciting. Younger readers will not find the text to be too difficult, and while there is violence, it is not too graphic. I appreciated that while the grandfather acknowledges the atrocities committed by the military against the Native Americans, he also understands that no one wins when fighting occurs.

Readers who are curious about the role of Native Americans during Westward Expansion and want a recounting of events that may differ from their social studies books will do well to pick up this book and travel with Jimmy and his grandfather.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."