Secrets of Bearhaven (Bearhaven #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2685 0
Secrets of Bearhaven (Bearhaven #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 05, 2016
ISBN
9780545813037
Buy This Book
      

It starts with a chase. When Spencer Plain is pulled out of school in the middle of the day, he never expects to be speeding down the highway with his uncle, trying to outpace the car that's tailing them. And he certainly never thought he'd find himself fleeing from a bear through the woods. And when he hears the bear say "We've been expecting you," Spencer knows he's just uncovered a whole world he'd never imagined. He's brought to Bearhaven, a secret oasis his parents created for bears. But there are depths to Bearhaven that Spencer and his new bear cub friend, Kate, start to uncover. Spencer finds out he's been there before, even if he can't remember. He also stumbles into a rescue mission being planned, to save a bear in danger. He knows he can help, and he's desperate to find clues to his parents' whereabouts, so he and Kate decide to take matters into their own hands - even if they discover a secret that could threaten Bearhaven's future!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Goldilocks this is not!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Spencer Plain is well aware that his parents study bears and help to rescue ones that are being abused, but he had no idea of the extent of their involvement until they go missing... and he ends up in Bearhaven. Here, the bears are fitted with a voice translator and can communicate with humans! Spencer meets Professor Weaver, his wife Bunny, and their daughter, Kate, and has to work with the bears, as well as his uncle, to find out what has happened to his parents. In the meantime, they have to try to locate the bear Ro Ro and her cubs who have been kidnapped by the evil Margo to be used in the horrifying bear baiting at Grady's Grandstand.
Good Points
I'm not a fan of talking animals in books, but Secrets of Bearhaven drew me in with its fast-paced narrative, sympathetic characters, and enjoyable world building. No time is wasted in getting Spencer to Bearhaven-- the book even starts with his exciting entry and then goes back to lay more groundwork for us, which is a brilliant way to start a middle grade book. Spencer doesn't blink (at least not for long) when the bears can speak to him, and the readers are also able to easily suspend disbelief.

The details of life in Bearhaven are delightful-- honey and berries for breakfast, salmon and green salads for dinner, cozy homes, and even Cadillacs adapted for the bears to travel in. The villains are deliciously evil, and the back story of Margo in particular is well done, since she is the villain behind Bearhaven being started.

While Spencer's parents are missing, we do end the book with some hope of where they are, and I imagine that the series will continue until they are found.

For readers who enjoyed Iserles The Taken, Hughes The Unnaturals, or Hunter's Seekers, Secrets of Bearhaven is an intriguing look at what skills are necessary to succeed in rescuing bears who fully conversant in English as well as Ragayo. Rolling boulders-- who knew it would be such a handy skill?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a powerful novel in verse, an award-winning author offers...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Anger, hurt, and rejection threaten Joshua’s ability to save the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bernita, a teenager from a prominent South American family, knows...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How do you fix a computer glitch that disappears before...
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...

Latest Member Reviews

The Suicide Journal
 
4.8
"The Suicide Journal is novella centered around a teenager named Cal. The story essentially centers around Cal's decision to kill..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Rising
 
4.0
"The story: In a dystopian future, the former state of Alaska is now home to what remains..."
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
"The Call of the Rift: Flight by Jae Waller is the first book in an alternate-historical fantasy about Kateiko, a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I learned a lot about parkour and also Islam from this book. I appreciate a book that focuses around a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"Adventure, sport, romance and cross-cultural understanding"
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.5
"Future collides with the past in Legacy by Jesikah Sundin, the first book in her series The Biodome Chronicles. Following..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I have read many Cinderella retellings in my life. It's a story I have always loved and been drawn to...."
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
4.0
"An intriguing world. The story: Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just..."
The Omen of Stones
 
4.5
"An intriguing follow up. The Story: River and Omen were born on the same..."
Golden Crown
 
5.0
"This series has blown me away. For those who don't know me, I am low key obsessed with Tangled. And..."
Golden Chains
 
5.0
"All right, so I loved Golden Curse, but I LOVED this second book. The story picks..."
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0
"When a weird light shoots from Brea and strikes her best friend, she's designated as mentally unstable and sent to..."
Heartmender
 
4.5
"I loved writing this book and I hope you all enjoy reading it! "
Moonscript
 
4.5
"4.5 stars! An elf haunted by his past, a girl dissatisfied with her monotonous present, a withered king looking..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
4.7
"Going into this book, I didn’t know what to expect, other than a hella good fantasy story, like all of..."
Twisted Pines
 
4.5
"Children are disappearing at a camp and coming back confused, with no memory of what happened. Abe, one of the..."
Ghosting You
 
4.5
"The story: In a small town in Georgia, Tommy is still mourning the loss of his best..."
Fae's Destruction (Queens of the Fae Book 3)
 
5.0
"What a ride! Fae’s Destruction by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the final book in their series Queens..."
Perfectly Summer
 
5.0
"Perfectly Summer by Robin Daniels is the third installment in The Perfect Series, and this time focuses on Levi London..."