Mars Evacuees

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1165 0
Mars Evacuees
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 17, 2015
ISBN
978-0062293992
Buy This Book
      
From bestselling UK author Sophia McDougall comes one fresh and funny adventure-filled tween debut about a group of kids evacuated to Mars! Perfect for fans of Artemis Fowl, this laugh-out-loud series is packed with nonstop fun. When Earth comes under attack by aliens, hilarious heroine Alice Dare and a select group of kids are sent to Mars. But things get very strange when the adults disappear into thin air, the kids face down an alien named Thsaaa, and Alice and her friends must save the galaxy! For when plucky twelve-year-old Alice Dare learns she's being taken out of the Muckling Abbott School for Girls and sent to another planet, no one knows what to expect. This is one wild ride that will have kids chuckling the whole way through.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Great space adventure!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Alice Dare is doing her best to get by at Muckling Abbot boarding school while her mother is fighting the aliens and her father is working as an engineer to help combat the effects of global cooling that the aliens have set in place, but she is evacuated... to Mars! She and a number of other young people are sent to train to fight the Morror alien horde and colonize Mars, which has been improved so that it is barely habitable. On the trip there, she befriends Josephine Jerome, who is more interested in biology than in fighting the aliens. When dare devil Chris's brother Noel sees a "space locust", the group is interested in what they might be, but disaster soon strikes the space station and all of the adults go off to fight, leaving the children to descend into Lord of the Flies type anarchy. Deciding that they might as well take their chances and try to make it to another outpost, the four children set off and have an astounding adventure that proves it is always best to carry duct tape with you. (As well as a backpack full of protein bars!)
Good Points
Alice starts out with an absolutely hysterical voice that drew me right in. There is some cultural diversity. The space story is fresh, especially the interactions with the aliens and the Mars colonization. Both of Alice's parents are still alive despite the alien invasion, and the robots provide some "adult" support. Lots of twists that I don't want to reveal. A nice change from all of the dystopian books; at least this is trying for a fix.

This was an awesome space adventure! The series should be interesting, since the Morrors are no longer enemies.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Faith has always known she was different and her...
The Mall
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Poems to Live Your Life By, Chris Riddell, political...
The Claires
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four beautiful girls. Quadruplets. They are not identical.But each is...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo,...
What He Hides
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
She wants the truth... or does she? They say...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King,...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"more forgetting time. more midnight dances with yourself."...
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
It’s been years since eighteen-year-old Becca Hart believed in...
More Than His Best Friend
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
She’s got a strict rule against dating. Could her...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...

Latest Member Reviews

Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"The story: Hua Minglan will sacrifice everything to avenge the death of her sister, and when war threatens her..."
Darkblood Academy
 
4.8
"AWESOME"
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.0
"Mia and Carson have always had it out for each other. But when Carson hits Mia in the face with..."
The Mall
 
3.7
"Cassie Worthy won't let a little thing like Mono hold her back from completing the Plan. It's the summer of..."
TBH, This is SO Awkward
 
4.0
"'TBH, This is SO Awkward: A Novel in Text' by Lisa Greenwald is quite interesting in that it is written..."
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
 
5.0
"This was an adventure from start to finish. I love Polly and her determination to not give up. Gorgeous setting..."
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
"SALTY, BITTER, SWEET is a book about family, forgiveness, grief, and following your passion. Isabella dreams of being a world-class..."
The N Word
 
5.0
"'Dating the Boy Next Door' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven is a wonderful sequel to the first book..."
My Name is Erin, and My Mom's an Addict
 
4.8
"Erin Whitaker's father is dead and her mother is a drug addict. When she is very young her mother..."
Spoken
 
4.5
"Roman has his life turned upside down when, amidst a scandal, his mom decides to leave LA. Roman must learn..."
 
4.0
"break your glass slippers is the first book in the poetry series, “you are your own fairy tale,” by award-winning..."