Space Hostages

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1230 0
Space Hostages
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 17, 2016
ISBN
978-0062294029
Buy This Book
      
From bestselling UK author Sophia McDougall comes one fresh and funny adventure-filled tween debut about a group of kids evacuated to Mars! Perfect for fans of Artemis Fowl, this laugh-out-loud series is packed with nonstop fun. When Earth comes under attack by aliens, hilarious heroine Alice Dare and a select group of kids are sent to Mars. But things get very strange when the adults disappear into thin air, the kids face down an alien named Thsaaa, and Alice and her friends must save the galaxy! For when plucky twelve-year-old Alice Dare learns she's being taken out of the Muckling Abbott School for Girls and sent to another planet, no one knows what to expect. This is one wild ride that will have kids chuckling the whole way through.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

When space tourism goes wrong!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Alice Dare, having survived Mars Evacuees, has written a book about her experiences and has gained some renown as a "plucky kid from Mars". When she has an opportunity to visit her friend Thsaaa's home planet (The Morrors have an Earth colony in the Swiss Alps, where it is nice and cold!) with her friends Carl, Noel and Josephine, she's very excited, but her parents aren't. Her father doesn't want her traipsing around the galaxy, and her mother is called away to deal with a Vshomu infestation. When her father becomes ill, she manages to get on the space elevator and boards the Helen of Troy, Ramus Trommler's luxury ship. Things go well until the ship is attacked by Krakkilluks, lobster-like creatures who have no use for "spawn", so throw Carla and Alice out of the space ship when they get lippy! Luckily, Josephine jumps after them and brings the Goldfish, and the group manages to crash onto the moon that is an article of contention for the Krakkilluks. They are angered that Dr. Muldoon has been terra forming it for eventual use by the Morrors; the Krakkilluks are using it for their own purposes. Stuck on a strange planet that is warm but has too much oxygen, the group tries to befriend local life forms with the help of the Goldfish's translating skills, and uncovers information about various plans to attack Earth. Will Alice be able to make it back to the ship to alert someone about these plans, or will she and her friends get stuck on the moon as slaves?
Good Points
It's so good to see space adventure books instead of Dystopian ones; while Mars Evacuees had more Dystopian elements, the plot of Space Hostages is perfect for adventure-- there is a fun trip planned to visit friends, but things go wrong and Alice and her friends get to meet aliens and visit places they wouldn't have seen if the voyage had been smooth sailing. Readers who enjoyed the new Random House Voyagers! series, Krokos' Planet Thieves, Fry's Hunt for the Hydra or Searles' The Lost Planet will be glad to see that this series is continuing.

The world building in this book is spectacular, especially when it comes to alien languages. I am usually annoyed by made up languages, but both the Morrors' and the Krakkilluks' languages are carefully crafted to go along with the sort of creatures they are. It's also impressive that McDougall is able to be more imaginative with the alien life forms-- Thsaaa's people have five genders and their moods are expressed through the color of their skin; they are also very sensitive to heat. The Krakkilluks' language is "crunchy" and goes along with their crab-like appearance; their insistence on speaking with a married couple is funny, but also shows that culture is not the same for all races. Their disregard of "spawn" leads to most of the adventure, and I loved the scene where the Earth dwellers just can't believe that the Krakkilluks are willing to dispose of the children without even blinking!

Alice's troubles with Josephine, as well as Josephine's own difficulties, add a more serious note to the book, but the Goldfish is one of the best comic relief characters I've come across. If you are looking for an interplanetary romp with amusing characters and vivid world building, definitely pick up Space Hostages... just remember to bring your own duct tape!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Learn about the life of Thomas Edison in this early...
Cuddle Close, Little Koala
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A reassuring bedtime story about the special bond between a...
Pete the Cat: 5-Minute Bedtime Stories: Includes 12 Cozy Stories!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Pete the Cat for 12 groovy, cozy stories perfect...
Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Half-angel Trinity and her bonded gargoyle protector, Zayne, have been...
Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All...
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning non-fiction picture book about the origins of the...
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As in Anne Frank's "Diary of a Young Girl" and...
Ghost Wood Song
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Sawkill Girls meets Beautiful Creatures in this lush and eerie...
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...

Latest Member Reviews

Rage and Ruin (The Harbinger, #2)
 
5.0
"RAGE AND RUIN is a fantastic sequel in THE HARBINGER series. Picking up where the first book left off, we..."
Ghost Wood Song
 
4.0
"Shady Grove inherited her father's talent to play a fiddler to call the dead. He used a special fiddle to..."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."